A WORD ON WORDS.

I was writing a short story, going along fine, and then I write the word ‘agreeance,’ sure enough, a wiggly red line appears underneath, which puzzled me because I was sure I had spelt it right. So I go on the net to investigate. Turns out I had spelt it right, it just technically isn’t a word. Agreement is the right term, apparently.
But I’ve always thought agreeance was a word, and so did my friends and family, and a few comments on the net suggested it’s a word used by Australians, huh, guess that’s why I thought it.
It doesn’t sound wrong at all to me, but it irked a lot of people on the net who left comments.
‘Are we all in agreeance?’
‘No.’
See, totally works. But it’s suppose to be:
‘Are we all in agreement?’
‘Yes.’
Funny how you can think one thing your whole life and it be wrong.

It got me thinking about the English language. I find it fascinating that English, Americans and Australians all speak English yet we have a lot of different words for the same thing. e.g Americans say sneakers, Australian say joggers. Americans say sweater, Australians say jumper.

Thrusted was another word I used in the same story that turned out to be wrong. Thrust can be used as both a present and past participle.
So no one is ‘thrusted into the spotlight at a young age’, they are simply ‘thrust into the spotlight at a young age.’
There you go, you learn something new everyday.

Thank goodness for spell checker.

I did know though that pictures are hung and people are hanged.

What about you? Are there any words you know that you were positive were a word only to find out they technically weren’t?

2 thoughts on “A WORD ON WORDS.

  1. And the English/Irish say “trainers” right?

    I think I do what you’re talking about all the time, but not on account of British English vs. American English, etc.; simply because I will be writing, and I will want to say something that makes perfect sense to me and I think any reader could appreciate, but simply isn’t a word.

    Can’t think of an example off the top of my head, but I know I try to make adjectives into nouns with “ness” or “ity” quite often. Ooh, I’ll be watching for the next one!

  2. Trainers is right, I think. I know a lot more about the difference between American word usage and Australian simply because I read a lot of American books and watch a lot of American TV shows.
    And I’m pretty sure I do the same with my adjectives 🙂

Leave a Reply

