Review: Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side.

Penguin Books, 2009.
Penguin Books, 2009.

The blurb:
Marrying a vampire definitely doesn’t fit into Jessica’s senior year ‘get-a-life’ plan.
Enter a bizarre new exchange student named Lucius Vladescu who claims Jessica is a Romanian vampire princess by birth and he’s her long lost fiancé. He’s arrogant, officious, embarrassingly overprotective, and, well, incredibly hot.
Armed with a copy of ‘Growing Up Undead: A teen Vampire’s Guide to Dating, Health and Emotions’, Jessica tires to imagine the transition from average American teenager to glam European vampire princess. But just when things start to heat up with Lucius, a devious cheerleader sets her sights on him.
Soon Jess finds herself fighting to win back her wayward prince, stop a global vampire war – and save Lucius’s soul from eternal damnation. All of which leaves her to wonder: Wouldn’t life be easier if she could just fall for a nice mortal boy?

My thoughts:
This was one of the biggest surprises I have ever read. I am totally guilty of judging this book by its title (horrible of me, I know). Shame on me because this turned out to be a great read.
I had totally dismissed this book, like I said, I wasn’t going to waist my money on it. Then the opportunity to borrow it came up and I decided to give it ago. I like to own the books I like, so as soon as I finished this I went out and bought a copy and will be buying its sequel.
This book was funny, light hearted and dramatic all at the same time. It was deliciously romantic, with lots of twist to keep you hooked. The ending had me holding my breath and had my heart racing, and ties off nicely.
If you like a good teen romance where the main characters don’t fall for each other straight away, that will make you laugh as well as hold your breath, then this is for you.

4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

