So many books, so little time.

‘Even when reading is impossible, the presence of books acquired produces such an ecstasy that the buying of more books than one can read in nothing less than the soul reaching toward infinity…Even if unread, we cherish books.Their mere presence exudes comfort, their ready access reassurance.’ — A.E. Newton.

Never a quote so true.

I love books. I love buying books. I’m building a library. I will have a private library in my house one day, not the one I’m living in now, it is too small, but the next one. I have 560 books that I own, most, unfortunately, are in boxes.

I buy more books than I read, which is also unfortunate. So I am setting myself a goal not to buy any books until march. Gosh, it almost kills me to write that. (I have to buy books in March because that’s when Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Princess, and Lauren Oliver’s Requiem, come out.)
See, my problem is, I hardly ever just buy one. I’m a real book bargain hunter, too,(I have a tight budget.) so when I can get a book I want cheap I want to buy it. Whether it be second-hand or from a discount store.
So I want to take a break from buying and read more. The books I want to buy are going to be there for a long time. I need to ignore that sudden rush that urges me to run out and buy that book right now.
I have some really great reads I want to read, too.
So no second-hand book stores and no Internet book sites for me for the rest of January and February 😦

Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “So many books, so little time.

  1. Your worry is very similar to mine. I enjoy reading critical essay dealing with World Literature, Korean Literature. As you may sense, these books make me read much more books! T_T
    Let’s sail the ocean of the books.

    (Really, I’m poor in English, I’m Korean and just about to start read and write in English in earnest. So, can you talk awhile by WORDPRESS from now on?)

Leave a Reply

