Writing Tip Wednesday: Editing and Submitting.

I am up to the editing stage of my novel, and soon I’ll be ready to submit, so I thought this week’s writing tip I’d focus on these two things. The perfect post ended up in my reader today on editing, so I thought I’d share the link. It is from Rebecca Berto’s blog and she gives some good examples of editing that I found really helpful, and you might too. It is worth the look.

http://rebeccaberto.com/2013/02/06/how-to-edit-out-crap-from-your-manuscript/

Secondly, I found some great advice from Isaac Asimov:

You must keep sending work out; you must never let a manuscript do nothing but eat its head off in a drawer. You send that work out again and again, while you’re working on another one. If you have talent, you will receive some measure of success – but only if you persist.

This is something I have been hearing from a few sources lately, and it is something that I am definitely going to do. I’ve always believed in the saying ‘If at first you don’t succeed, try and try again.’ Writing has never been a choice for me, I’ve always felt like it is something I have to do, and it is something that I cannot and will not give up on.
As writers, we need to persist, we need to realise that success rarely happens overnight and rejection is part of the job. But being an author isn’t impossible, as some people might tell you. Talent will only get you so far, you need to persist and not give up and keep striving for success. Agents and publishers are dealing with an incredible amount of submissions and we need to stand out, to write the best manuscript we can, edit the best we can and then send it away, and keep sending it away, because if it is good someone will say yes. And just because one or two or twenty say no, doesn’t mean you aren’t talented.

Don’t give up.

Also, I like submitting my work. It feels good having your work out there under query (as well as terrifying and nerve-wracking.) because as long as it is out there, there is still hope. You can never get your novel published if a publisher has never seen it.

So when your novel is ready, really ready, submit away.

3 thoughts on “Writing Tip Wednesday: Editing and Submitting.

  1. Really timely post for me – I’m trimming my novel down to size at the moment. It’s a bit disheartening watching my word count decrease hour after hour, but I know it’ll be worth it in the end!

    1. I’m glad you liked it. The word count isn’t the most important thing, its the words you use and don’t use. Publishers/agents want you to give them the best you can write, so editing and editing and editing and editing is worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

