Spotlight Saturday: A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix.

a confusion of princes

Every Saturday I shine the spotlight on a book by an Australian author I think is worth the read. Today I shine the spotlight on ‘A Confusion Of Princes’ by Garth Nix.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A grand adventure that spans galaxies and lifetimes, A Confusion of Princes is a page-turning thriller, a tender romance, and a powerful exploration of what it means to be human. includes exclusive bonus Garth Nix short story ‘Master Haddad’s Holiday’.

I have died three times, and three times been reborn, though I am not yet twenty in the old earth years by which it is still the fashion to measure time. This is the story of my three deaths, and my life between. My name is Khemri.

Taken from his parents as a child and equipped with biological and technological improvements, Khemri is now an enhanced human being, trained and prepared for the glory of becoming a Prince of the Empire. Not to mention the ultimate glory: should he die, and be deemed worthy, he will be reborn…Which is just as well, because no sooner has Prince Khemri graduated to full Princehood than he learns the terrible truth behind the Empire: there are ten million princes, and all of them want each other dead.

My Thoughts:

This is the first ‘spaceopera’ I’ve read and the first Garth Nix book that I’ve read. I haven’t read much sci-fi, I’m more of a fantasy lover, so I can’t say whether or not you’ll love this if you’re a die hard Sci-fi fan, but I enjoyed it.

I’m giving it 3.5 out of five. The first half was a 3 but the second a 4, so I figured 3.5 over all. I really, really wanted to give this book a higher rating, but it took too long to get into. There is a lot of explanations in the first few chapters that I found I had to slug through. It got more interesting around ch 5, I think, but it got really interesting for me when Khemri was chosen to take a test only offered to a handful of Princes. This is where I got hooked and couldn’t put it down.

This is the story of Khemri’s three deaths and his lives between. (When a Prince dies and is deemed worthy he gets reborn.)
This story is set in the far, far, future where the universe is run by millions of Princes. Superhuman beings that do whatever they want, get whatever they want, have mindless slaves at their beck and call and want to kill each other in order to one day be the all powerful Emperor.
They don’t even know the meaning of the word Love.
But when Khemri goes through a special test he learns what it’s like to be truly human, and discovers the unimaginable: love.

If you love a good YA story set in space with action and mystery and romantic elements than you will enjoy this. It is a stand alone, which is nice for a change when you read a lot of series like I do.

It is available from the book depository and as an ebook.

You can check it out on Goodreads here: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13458013-a-confusion-of-princes

2 thoughts on “Spotlight Saturday: A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix.

Leave a Reply

