Writing Tip Wednesday: The Writing Process.

Welcome to this week’s Writing Tip Wednesday. Today I wanted to focus on the writing process after reading a great post from author Joanne Wadsworth about it. You can read the informative post over at :

http://joannewadsworth.com/2013/02/25/the-writing-process-tep-by-step/

The thing about ‘The Writing Process’ is that Everyone’s process is different, just like everyone’s natural voice is different, and you need to write the way that works best for you. And just because you write one way for one novel or short story, doesn’t mean you have to go through the same process for the next one.

Some writers are plotters, meaning they thoroughly plot out their stories before writing. Others are pantsers, as Joanne calls them, Pantsers fly by the seat of their pants, meaning they get an idea and start writing and let the story take them where it wants to go. And then there are those that are a mix of both.

No one way is right or wrong. You have to find what’s best for you. I think though, when you are writing a series, you need to have a substantial plot worked out because your idea is spanning over more than one book and you need to know the final ending and what you want to achieve in each book. You need to know the big picture. And when you send your first book in a series out for submission, from what I’ve seen so far here in Australia, the agent and/or publisher are going to want to a synopsis for the subsequent books to make sure you have everything worked out and you are going to be able to produce said subsequent books.

As for me I’m a bit of both, I think. And what method I use depends on how much of the story idea has come to me. Usually when an idea strikes me the beginning and the end will come to me and all I have to do is work out the middle, and I’ll start writing straight away. Sometimes it’s just a name or a character and I have to sit on it a while as the bigger picture slowly comes to me. I like having a basic outline and then being led on a journey.

What about you? I love hearing how other writers work and love to read your comments.

Joanne Wadsworth debut novel is available as an ebook through amazon and other retailers and you can find out more on goodreads at : http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15827947-protector

5 thoughts on “Writing Tip Wednesday: The Writing Process.

  1. You are so right. I think there are as many different ways to write as there are writers. What works for some might stifle others. However, I agree about needing to have the “big idea” to guide you (and to submit to an agent/publisher). I found Randy Ingermanson’s Snowflake Method quite helpful in trying to nail down the “big picture”. I didn’t buy anything but he has quite a bit of free information on his site. I am sure there are many variations on this, but if you google it and have a look, you might find it interesting. Thanks for a great post!

  2. I find that I’m a bit of both too. In fact most of my blog posts are Pantser posts. An idea sparks and I run with it. However, when working on personal writing on the side, I lay out a basic idea and then free-fall through the middle, sort of let the characters and events play themselves out.

Leave a Reply

