Spotlight Saturday: Review ‘Hidden’ by Marianne Curley.

Welcome to this week’s Spotlight Saturday where I shine the spotlight on an Australian book I think should be read. This week I am excited to bring you ‘Hidden’ by Marianne Curley. I would like to say thanks to Bloomsbury Sydney for providing me with a copy.

hidden

The synopsis from Goodreads:

Ebony has always known that she is different. Her violet eyes mark her out, and her protective parents have kept her in a gorgeous valley, home-schooled, safe from everything – almost as if she’s being hidden. But she’s changing: glowing, getting more and more beautiful, and stronger than anyone knows. Ebony can’t stay hidden for ever, and when she meets complicated, intense Jordan, something explodes inside her – something that can be seen from the heavens; something that changes everything. Ebony is a stolen angel, concealed on Earth. Now the heavens have found her, they want her back.

My thoughts:

4 out of 5.

If there’s one thing I’ve found it’s that Australian authors know how to write angels. This was my first Marianne curley book, but I have a few of her others on my shelf waiting to be read, and after reading this they will be nudged up the pile of to-read-next.

Hidden was not what I thought it was going to be, but not in a bad way. I had expected it to be a typical paranormal romance, but I was wrong. The romantic thread was there, it was underlying to begin with and comes to the fore toward the end of the book.

The story is told alternately from the points of view of Ebony and Jordan. Ebony knows she is different and now she is determined to find out why. She wants to know who she really is, or what she is.
Ebony has led a very sheltered life, and she is sick of it. She sneaks off one night to go to a club with her best friend and she meets Jordan. There is a strange and immediate connection between them.
Jordan is attacked, and is close to dying. He is visited by an angel, Thane, who claims that he is key to finding a missing angel. Jordan agrees to helping him in exchange for his life being saved.
Thane needs to find the hidden angel and protect her from the Dark Prince who wants to take her back to his dark dimension.

The thing I found most fascinating about this book was that Jordan was a main character with his own POV, yet his role wasn’t what you would expect – he was a brilliant character that kept me hook. And then there was Thane, who you got to know through Jordan. He was an angel, gorgeous and strong, with a personal interest in finding Ebony and protecting her. I enjoyed the interactions between Jordan and Thane.

Some reviewers found the beginning slow, but I thought the opposite, just because it doesn’t leap straight into the romance doesn’t mean it’s slow – I mean, the scene where Jordan is attacked had me on the edge of my seat.
The writing wasn’t simple per say, more like the story line was innocent compared to a lot of other YA books out there. Some YA books, though suppose to be for 12-17 year olds I feel are more geared toward the older end of that spectrum, but I felt this book would be suitable for the younger end, though I still enjoyed it as an adult.

I found I guessed some of the twist straight away, but that didn’t make it any less enjoyable. The characters and the mystery surrounding them are enough to keep you intrigued. Curley has a different spin on angels and where they come from and has created an interesting world I want to know more about. I am looking forward to the next book.

I recommend it to people who like YA books about angels. I think you will enjoy it if you liked the Halo series by Alexandra Adornetto.

One thought on “Spotlight Saturday: Review ‘Hidden’ by Marianne Curley.

Leave a Reply

