Fiction Friday: Review ‘Zombies Vs Unicorns’

Allen and Unwin 2010.
Allen and Unwin 2010.

So far, all the YA anthologies I have read, I have loved, and Zombies vs Unicorns was no exception.

Here’s the synopsis:
Which reigns supreme, the zombie or the unicorn? It’s a question as old as time itself.

‘For too long, the zombie has dominated the public consciousness, but the reign of the unicorn is at hand!’ Holly Black – Team Unicorn

‘I think that posterity will look upon this as the moment when zombies took their rightful place at the top of the food chain.’ Justine Larbalestier – Team Zombie

Edited by Holly Black (Team Unicorn) and Justine Larbalestier (Team Zombie). Zombies Vs Unicorns is a unique short story feud that pits horned beasts against the shuffling undead. Contributors to this unique colection include best-selling teen and YA authors Garth Nix, Meg Cabot, Scott Westerfield, Cassandra Clare, Libba Bray, Maureen Johnson and Margo Lanagan.

Zombies vs Unicorns challenge you to pick a team, and stick to it. But be warned, these are stellar storytellers, and they can be very convincing…

My thoughts:
Zombies and Unicorns aren’t my favourite creatures, and I probably would have dismissed this anthology if it didn’t have Australian authors in it. But it did, so I gave it a try. I liked it so much more than I thought I would; it was really good.

This is an anthology full of stories about, you guessed it, zombies and unicorns. It is edited by Justine Larbalestier, who is team zombie, and Holly Back, who is team unicorn. Before each story there is some fun, funny banter between the two which I found as enjoyable as the stories themselves.

Going into this, I would have said I was leaning toward team unicorn, but going out I’m not so sure. I am not a huge zombie fan, but I enjoyed the zombie stories in this book.

In this anthology there are 12 stories (6 unicorns, 6 zombie), 12 strong, well written and intriguing stories.

Here is the table of contents:

The Highest Justice – Garth Nix. (Unicorn.)
Love Will Tear Us Apart – Alaya Dawn Johnson. (Zombie.)
Purity Test – Naomi Novik.(Unicorn.)
Bougainvillea – Carrie Ryan. (Zombie.)
A Thousand Flowers – Margo Lanagan. (Unicorn.)
The Children of the Revolution – Maureen Johnson. (Zombie.)
The Care and Feeding of Your Baby Killer Unicorn – Diana Peterfreund.(Unicorn.)
Inoculata – Scott Westerfeld. (Zombie.)
Princess Prettypants – Meg Cabot. (Unicorn.)
Cold hands – Cassandra Clare. (Zombie)
The Third Virgin – Kathleen Duey. (Unicorn.)
Prom Night – Libba Bray. (Zombie.)

The unicorn stories I loved were The Highest Justice, Purity Test, Princess Prettypants and The Care and Feeding of Your Baby Killer Unicorn.
The Zombie stories I loved were Bougainvillea, The Children of the Revolution and Prom night.
Huh, does that mean I’m team unicorn?

This was a great anthology and I recommend it to those who love unicorns, zombies, or even if you think you don’t, and who love paranormal YA.

4 out of 5.

You can check it out on Goodreads : http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9649924-zombies-vs-unicorns

Leave a Reply

