Spotlight Saturday: Review ‘Girl Saves Boy’.

girlsavesboy

Welcome to this week’s Spotlight Saturday where I shine the spotlight on an Australian book I think deserves to be read. This week I will be shining the spotlight on ‘Girl Saves Boy’ the debut novel of Steph Bowe.

The Synopsis from Goodreads:

The first time we met, Jewel Valentine saved my life.

Isn’t it enough having your very own terminal disease, without your mother dying? Or your father dating your Art teacher?

No wonder Sacha Thomas ends up in the lake that Saturday evening…

But the real question is: how does he end up in love with Jewel Valentine?

With the help of quirky teenage prodigies Little Al and True Grisham, Sacha and Jewel have a crazy adventure, with a little lobster emancipation along the way.

But Sacha’s running out of time, and Jewel has secrets of her own.

Girl Saves Boy is a hugely talented debut novel, funny and sad, silly and wise. It’s a story of life, death, love… and garden gnomes.

My thoughts:

Girl Saves Boy was a sweet,sad book with a touch of humour, making it an enchanting read.I could hardly put this book down and found myself wanting to get back to it as quickly as possible when I was forced to stop reading.
I have read only a few ‘sad’ books, I can’t take too much of them, they tear me apart, but what I have read, there is a lot of focus on the death, but this one is about living, and that is what made it a stand out for me.
The characters, and the story of their lives and the sadness that surrounded them, were captivating. All of them, even the secondary ones.
Some people thought Jewel and Sacha rushed into a relationship, but given the circumstances, they had to. Time isn’t something they had a lot of. They can’t slowly get to know each other, for them it was now or never, so rush away, I say.
Both Sacha and Jewel have experienced so much pain and loss in their hard, complicated, young lives, which you see through their alternating view points. This book is called Girl Saves Boy but I think they save each other. They become a light in each others world that they really need at the time.
The book ends abruptly, but I loved that, though lots of people hated it. Like I said, this book is about living, and ending it when she did kept the book true to that.

I think John Green fans will like this one, but if you love a well-written, smart, heartfelt, romantic YA novel then this one is for you. A must read contemporary.

4.5 out of 5 stars.

You can add it to your Goodreads here: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7944308-girl-saves-boy

Be sure to come back next week as I will be reviewing miss Bowe’s second book, ‘All This Could End.’

Leave a Reply

