Fiction Friday: Jessica Shirvington’s new book & other May releases.

Welcome to this week’s Fiction Friday. For today’s Fiction Friday I want to bring you some of the upcoming book releases I am really excited about.

First up, Jessica Shirvington, author of the Violet Eden chapter (Embrace, Entice, Emblaze, Endless)
is bringing out a new book, separate from the Violet Eden chapters. It sounds really good and I think she is a great writer so I’ll be buying this one when it comes out on May 1st here in Australia, overseas release dates are yet to be confirmed.

Between the lives

The Synopsis:
Above all else, though I try not to think about it, I know which life I prefer. And every night when I Cinderella myself from one life to the next a very small, but definite, piece of me dies. The hardest part is that nothing about my situation has ever changed. There is no loophole.

Until now, that is…

For as long as she can remember, Sabine has lived two lives. Every 24 hours she Shifts to her ‘other’ life – a life where she is exactly the same, but absolutely everything else is different: different family, different friends, different social expectations. In one life she has a sister, in the other she does not. In one life she’s a straight-A student with the perfect boyfriend, in the other she’s considered a reckless delinquent. Nothing about her situation has ever changed, until the day when she discovers a glitch: the arm she breaks in one life is perfectly fine in the other. With this new knowledge, Sabine begins a series of increasingly risky experiments which bring her dangerously close to the life she’s always wanted…But just what – and who – is she really risking?

You can add it to your Goodreads here: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17204984-between-the-lives?ac=1

The second book I’m looking forward to this May is Towering by Alex flinn. I loved beastly so I am expecting this to be really good. Released May 14th.

towering

The synopsis:
At first, I merely saw his face, his hands on the window ledge. Then, his whole body as he swung himself through the window. Only I could not see what he swung on.
Until, one day, I told my dream self to look down. And it was then that I saw. He had climbed on a rope. I knew without asking that the rope had been one of my own tying.

Rachel is trapped in a tower, held hostage by a woman she’s always called Mama. Her golden hair is growing rapidly, and to pass the time, she watches the snow fall and sings songs from her childhood, hoping someone, anyone, will hear her.

Wyatt needs time to reflect or, better yet, forget about what happened to his best friend, Tyler. That’s why he’s been shipped off to the Adirondacks in the dead of winter to live with the oldest lady in town. Either that, or no one he knows ever wants to see him again.

Dani disappeared seventeen years ago without a trace, but she left behind a journal that’s never been read, not even by her overbearing mother…until now.

A #1 New York Times bestselling author, Alex Flinn knows her fairy tales, and Towering is her most mind-bending interpretation yet. Dark and mysterious, this reimagining of Rapunzel will have readers on the edge of their seats wondering where Alex will take them next!

You can add it to Goodreads here: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15806868-towering?ac=1

Thirdly, I would like to remind you that Haze, The Rephaim book 2, by Paula Weston is coming out on May 22nd in Australia and on June 6th in the UK. Shadows, The Rephaim book 1, was 5 out of 5 amazing and I think this is going to be just as brilliant.

haze

UK edition.
UK edition.

The synopsis:
‘But what if we can’t find Jude?’
He leans closer. His breath is warm on my ear. ‘We will.’
‘How can you be so sure?’ I want to believe him so badly, but this is Rafa. The guy who’s all action and no plan. His smile is tired, knowing. An echo of a shared past I don’t remember.
‘Because I’m not smart enough to give up, and you don’t know how to.’

Gaby Winters’ nightmares have stopped but she still can’t remember her old life. Still can’t quite believe she is one of the Rephaim—the wingless half-angels who can shift from place to place, country to country, in the blink of an eye. That she was once the Rephaim’s best fighter. That demons exist. That Rafa has stayed.

But most of all, she can’t quite believe that her twin brother, Jude, might be alive.

And Gaby can’t explain the hesitancy that sidetracks the search for him, infuriates Rafa, and sends them, again, into the darkest danger.

You can add it to your Goodreads here: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15765699-haze

There you have it, three exciting books to look forward to this May. Are any of them on your list? What up coming releases are you looking forward to?

2 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Jessica Shirvington’s new book & other May releases.

  1. Between the Lives sounds really intriguing – what a great idea for a story! I’m looking forward to reading it, although I have dozens of books on my shelves waiting to be read already… 🙂

Leave a Reply

