Fiction Friday: Review Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare.

For today’s Fiction Friday I am reviewing Clockwork Princess, the third and final book in The Infernal Devices series. This post will not contain any spoilers.

princess

The Synopsis from goodreads:

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy?
Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute.
A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

My thoughts:
5 out of 5.

Buying the hardback collectors edition is worth it for the family tree inside the dust jacket – a must for all fans of this series. The hardest part was waiting until I read the book to look at it, but I did restrain and looked at it after, which I am proud of myself for, I almost caved a few times.

What can I say about the story? Wow. This book will tear you to shreds. It was overwhelming and left me feeling hollow inside for days afterwards. You will need lots of tissues while reading, and some chocolate for comfort.
This book is full of twist and turns and surprises, and is absolutely heart wrenching. Clockwork Princess was full of romance and focuses a lot on the Tessa-Will-Jem saga, which overshadowed the whole Mortmain issues, I felt. I feel Tessa is a lot more torn in this book than the others and to me she shows her love for Jem more in this than the other two, that her heart was clearly more divided in this book. I felt torn between the two boys myself and was on edge wanting to know who she would end up with.

What I love about Clare’s books is that you get wrapped up in all the other characters’ stories as well, not just the main ones. They all have their own little love stories that I find I’m just as invested in.

The ending was satisfactory to me, but not to a lot of fans based on discussions on Goodreads.

Clockwork Princess was an emotional roller coaster ride, but a ride I was glad I went on, despite it tearing me to shreds. I Highly recommend it.

Oh, and if you love this series you will be happy to know that Clare is planning on writing another trilogy set in the 1900’s featuring the next generation of shadow hunters after The Infernal Devices. It will be called something with the initials TLH.

Leave a Reply

