Fiction Friday: Review ‘Requiem’ by Lauren Oliver.

Welcome to this week’s Fiction Friday. Today I will be reviewing ‘Requiem’, the third and final book in the Delirium series. There will be spoilers for Delirium and Pandemonium, AND REQUIEM, so if you haven’t read those books I suggest you stop reading.

requiem

The synopsis from Goodreads:
They have tried to squeeze us out, to stamp us into the past.

But we are still here.

And there are more of us every day.

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.

After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor.

Maybe we are driven crazy by our feelings.

Maybe love is a disease, and we would be better off without it.

But we have chosen a different road.

And in the end, that is the point of escaping the cure: We are free to choose.

We are even free to choose the wrong thing.

Requiem is told from both Lena’s and Hana’s points of view. The two girls live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

My thoughts:

I loved both Delirium and pandemonium, I gave them both 5 out of 5. Both had brilliant endings that devastated me in that beautiful way readers crave. I expected this book to be the same but it has disappointed me. I am finding it extremely hard to write this review because I am so conflicted.

I thought the beginning was good, I found the difference between Lena’s POV and Hana’s interesting. Hana’s got more interesting as the book went along, Lena’s on the other hand. It wasn’t that it got less interesting, it was more of the fact of where it was going. I am sorry but I don’t think I can continue this review without SPOILERS so if you don’t want to know STOP READING NOW.

There were two things I wanted from this book. I wanted to know how Alex felt now Lena was with Julian, and I wanted to know who Lena was going to choose: Alex or Julian. One of those things were resolved. I really liked the beginning, like I said, it was in the middle that I started getting worried. REALLY worried. Lena was so hot and cold toward Julian depending on how Alex treated her. I was reading and I was so scared about how Oliver was going to end it because the book was running out and the Alex and Julian issue was no closer to being resolved and I was scared that it was going to be unrealistic.

Then the book just ended. It just ended with no resolution. She doesn’t choose at all. Lauren Oliver leaves the book open ended and lets the reader decide. Open ended endings are fine with me for books one and two, but book three in a trilogy is where I expect some resolution. And since this is a trilogy all about love I expected her to choose!

I loved Alex in the first book, I really did. And then Lena is thrown in with Julian and I liked him and then suddenly Alex is back and so the love triangle is thrust upon us unwillingly.

This is how I would end the story, Alex fans won’t like this, but, the story should have ended at the end of pandemonium, Lena and Julian happy and the last few lines erased and Alex stays dead. I just don’t see the point of book three if you aren’t going to resolve the love triangle.

Otherwise I would end book 3 with Lena staying with Julian. I know Alex was her first love, and she even loved him more, but sometimes in life you don’t get forever with your first love. I think Julian needed Lena more, that he would loose more if he lost Lena.

I’m giving this book 3 stars because I think Lauren Oliver has a fantastic writing voice, but my first reaction was to give it 2 stars. I was so angry about the ending. But it is better than two stars and If you have read books 1 and 2 than it is still worth the read, although it probably doesn’t seem like it from this review. I was just so emotionally invested in this series that I feel jilted.

Requiem will leave you unsatisfied, that’s all I can say.

2 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Review ‘Requiem’ by Lauren Oliver.

Leave a Reply

