Fiction Friday: Review ‘Entice’ by Carrie Jones.

Hi and welcome to this week’s Fiction Friday, today I review the YA paranormal romance ‘Entice,’ by Carrie Jones.

Entice

Synopsis from Goodreads:
Zara and Nick are soul mates, meant to be together for ever. But that’s not quite how things have worked out. For starters, Nick has gone. He has been taken to the mythical place for warriors known as Valhalla. Zara and her friends might be able to get him back, it’s just not going to be easy. Meanwhile a group of evil pixies is devastating Bedford, with more teens going missing every day. An all-out war seems imminent, and the good guys need all the warriors they can find. But even if Zara and her friends do discover the route to Valhalla, there’s that other small problem: Zara’s been pixie kissed. When she finds Nick, will he even want to go with her? Especially since she hasn’t turned into just any pixie… She’s Astley’s queen.

My thoughts.

I am finding it difficult to rate this one. I rarely give a book a rating below three because I am careful of the books I read. I gave Need (book 1) and Captivate (book 2) both 3 stars, and this was not as good as those two books so I am forced to give it 2.5 stars out of five.

It has been awhile since I read Captivate and I forgot how much Zara irritates me – the way she talks and thinks really gets on my nerves, and so did her friends in this book. I struggled to get to the end of the book and found myself skipping parts.

I have to say my favourite parts of this book were the snippets at the beginning of each chapter. I also liked Astley. I liked the connection Astley and Zara had, and it was frustrating that Zara was trying the whole time to get Nick back. The thing is, I can’t really remember how I felt about Zara and Nick, but seeing the connection between Astley and Zara in this one makes me team Astley. When’s a faery/pixie king gonna get a break and find a Queen that actually loves him? It just reminds me of Melissa Marr’s series (though I have only read two books so far in that series).

I don’t have much to say, Entice struggled to hold my interest. It got vaguely interesting in the last couple of chapters, and when Astley Mum was in it. I will read the last book simply because I’ve read three and invested a lot of time and want to see how the series ends. I hoping book four will be 4 stars, or at least make it back up to 3.

5 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Review ‘Entice’ by Carrie Jones.

  1. Interesting. The cover alone get my attention however the content is what entices me to buy it.This book has always caught my eye when shopping yet I never picked it up but I always wondered.
    Thank you for the review.

    1. It was the cover that caught my eye too, and I decided to buy it when I could get it on sale. A lot of my goodread friends liked it more than I did, it’s all personal opinion.

      1. I haven’t yet, but I do still intend too. I’ll post a review when I finally get around to it. Have you read any of them yet? What were your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

