Fiction Friday: Review ‘Undeadly’ by Michele Vail.

Welcome to this week’s Fiction Friday, today I’ll be reviewing the YA paranormal romance, ‘Undeadly’ by Michele Vail.

undeadly

The Synopsis from Goodreads:
The day I turned 16, my boyfriend-to-be died. I brought him back to life. Then things got a little weird…

Molly Bartolucci wants to blend in, date hottie Rick and keep her zombie-raising abilities on the down-low. Then the god Anubis chooses her to become a reaper—and she accidentally undoes the work of another reaper, Rath. Within days, she’s shipped off to the Nekyia Academy, an elite boarding school that trains the best necromancers in the world. And her personal reaping tutor? Rath.

Life at Nekyia has its plusses. Molly has her own personal ghoul, for one. Rick follows her there out of the blue, for another…except, there’s something a little off about him. When students at the academy start to die and Rath disappears, Molly starts to wonder if anything is as it seems. Only one thing is certain—-Molly’s got an undeadly knack for finding trouble….

My thoughts:

3 out of 5 stars.

Once I heard about this book I really wanted to read it, it sounded really good, and it was good, but to me, it just wasn’t great. Not bad, just not great.
(Side note:I absolutely adore the cover of this book and the interior design is really pretty.)

This is the first book about reapers I have read and I found the whole concept of reaping really interesting. It was nice reading about another mythology other than Greek, and I found the Egyptian mythology fascinating. I loved the little snippets at the beginning of each chapter, they were informative and interesting and one of the best parts of the book.

In this book, everyone is aware that reapers and necromancers and zombies and ghost and the like exist. Molly is a necromancer with the ability to raise zombies, which isn’t all that special. On her 16th birthday, Anubis choose Molly to become a reaper, giving her extra powers. Molly must go off to Nekyia Academy to train, and to keep her out of the hands of those who work for Set – the evil god of the underworld who is trapped, but will be free one day, and wants to use Molly for dark purposes. Strange things start happening at Nekyia and students start to die, and it is up to Molly to help find out what is going on.

Undeadly started a little slow for me, and although Molly has zombie-raising abilities, this book isn’t about brain eating zombies that want to annihilate the human population, the zombies in this book are just reanimated corpses that are basically slaves, though they will try and eat you if you let them get hungry. Its more about reaping of souls, so if you are looking for that classic zombie book than this probably isn’t for you.

It started getting more interesting once Molly went to Nekyia Academy. I absolutely loved her accommodation. Because she is a legacy – a descendant of one of the five families who started the school – she gets all these privileges, including an amazing room and a ghoul who is at her beck and call. A handy thing to have it seems. Henry, her ghoul, was a very likeable, charming character, in fact, I found all the undead characters in this book far more appealing than any of the live ones, including Rennie, the boy ghost Molly becomes friends with.

Molly had a lot of attitude, and I found her slightly irritating, especially at the start, but she was growing on me by the end. I have a feeling I am going to like book 2 a whole lot more, well I’m hoping so anyway. The book ends on a cliffhanger that hits you left of field and you your like ‘What?’ Ok, Book 2 you have the potential to be awesome.

On the romance side of things, Molly really likes Rick and wants him as her boyfriend, but her stomach also flutters around Rath, her trainer. I found the romance a little lacklaster, and it wasn’t a huge part of the story. I would choose Rath over Rick easily. Rick was seriously full on, like, down boy – go have a cold shower. Rath was all bad boy and sass and gorgeous. There was much better heat between Rath and Molly than Molly and Rick.

It is a small book, a quick and easy read. It kind of reminded me of the first house of night, but it was a lot better than that book. I did find it enjoyable and will be reading the next book in the series.
If this sounds like a book you might like you can add it to your goodreads here

Leave a Reply

