Fiction Friday: Review ‘Last Sacrifice’ by Richelle Mead.

Welcome to this weeks Fiction Friday, today I am reviewing the YA paranormal romance ‘Last sacrifice’, the 6th and final book in Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series. If you haven’t read this series than I highly recommend you do. Books 1-3 I really enjoyed, giving them all four stars, but I fell head over heels for this series from Blood Promise onwards and rated books 4-6 all five stars. I am very picky about the vampire books I read because I am not a huge Vampire fan, but I can say with confidence that Vampire Academy is a stand out. I came to this series late and I am so glad I did because it meant that I could read all the books whenever I pleased without having to wait for them to be released.

*If you haven’t read the other books in this series I recommend you stop reading now because this review will contain spoilers for the other books in this series.

Last Sacrifice

Synopsis from Goodreads:

They come first.

My vision was growing dimmer, the blackness and ghosts closing in. I swore it was like I could hear Robert whispering in my ear: The world of the dead won’t give you up a second time. Just before the light completely vanished, I saw Dimitri’s face join Lissa’s. I wanted to smile. I decided then that if the two people I loved most were safe, I could leave this world.

The dead could finally have me.

Rose Hathaway has always played by her own rules. She broke the law when she ran away from St. Vladimir’s Academy with her best friend and last surviving Dragomir princess, Lissa. She broke the law when she fell in love with her gorgeous, off-limits instructor, Dimitri. And she dared to defy Queen Tatiana, leader of the Moroi world, risking her life and reputation to protect generations of dhampir guardians to come.

Now the law has finally caught up with Rose – for a crime she didn’t even commit. She’s in prison for the highest offense imaginable: the assassination of a monarch. She’ll need help from both Dimitri and Adrian to find the one living person who can stall her execution and force the Moroi elite to acknowledge a shocking new candidate for the royal throne: Vasilisa Dragomir.

But the clock on Rose’s life is running out. Rose knows in her heart the world of the dead wants her back…and this time she is truly out of second chances. The big question is, when your whole life is about saving others, who will save you?

Join Rose, Dimitri, Adrian, and Lissa in Last Sacrifice, the epic, unforgettable finale to Richelle Mead’s international #1 bestselling Vampire Academy series.

My thoughts:

5 out of 5 stars.

This book was huge, close to 600 pages, it’s a brick, but I was not bored for a single second of those 600 pages. This book was amazing and ended this series perfectly. Even though this was a large book, I didn’t want this book to end, didn’t want to leave Rose and everyone behind. No matter how good a last book is, I always feel sad when a series I love ends, like I’ve said goodbye to a good friend.

Mead has woven quiet an intricate plot throughout this series, and I didn’t realise just how intricate until I read this book and all the loose threads finally came together. Richelle Mead is brilliant, and I am not using the word lightly.

After five books you think you have a character figured out, but in this book you learn even more about Rose and get to see even more sides to her. One thing I love about this series is how lively and real Mead’s characters are, how human they seem.

Like all the other Vampire Academy books there is plenty of action and lots of twist and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat.
There are so many things I just didn’t see coming in this book, like who the real murderer was and who Eric’s daughter was. And I was shocked with what happened to Rose in the end. Though I did see Lissa’s ending coming.
And like all the other Vampire Academy books there is the romance, there was a lot of sweet moments in this book. There was a scene in a tent that I absolutely loved. This is a little spoilery, but most people can figure out who Rose ends up with, there was no other way it was going to go, and I agree it was the right way to go because I truly believe those two belonged together, but my heart broke for the other guy.

I don’t want to say much more because I don’t want to be spoilery, but I will say this is a must read series. I loved how this book ended, it has left me a lot more satisfied then other last books I have read lately. I am so excited to hear that they are making Vampire Academy into a movie, and I am over the moon that Mead has written a spin off series. I can’t wait to get my hands on Bloodlines and get back into Mead’s world.

Leave a Reply

