Spotlight Sunday: Review ‘Haze’ by Paula Weston. AWW2013.

Welcome to this week’s Spotlight Sunday where I shine the light on an Australian book I think is worth the read. Today I am reviewing Haze, the second book in Paula Weston’s Rephaim series. If you have not read Shadows, the first book in the series, I highly recommend that you do. You can read my review for Shadows here
Haze will be available internationally in October, Shadows is available now from the bookdepository

This is the ninth book I have read for the Australian Women Writers Challenge 2013.

The synopsis from Goodreads:

“But what if we can’t find Jude?”
He leans closer. His breath is warm on my ear. “We will.”
“How can you be so sure?” I want to believe him so badly, but this is Rafa. The guy who’s all action and no plan. His smile is tired, knowing. An echo of a shared past I don’t remember.
“Because I’m not smart enough to give up, and you don’t know how to.”

Gaby Winters’ nightmares have stopped but she still can’t remember her old life. Still can’t quite believe she is one of the Rephaim—the wingless half-angels who can shift from place to place, country to country, in the blink of an eye. That she was once the Rephaim’s best fighter. That demons exist. That Rafa has stayed.

But most of all, she can’t quite believe that her twin brother, Jude, might be alive.

And Gaby can’t explain the hesitancy that sidetracks the search for him, infuriates Rafa, and sends them, again, into the darkest danger.

My Thoughts:

5 out of 5.

I absolutely loved Shadows, and Haze did not disappoint. We are thrown back into the lives of Gaby and Rafa as they try and find Gaby’s brother – who up until a week ago she thought was dead – in hopes of finding out why she can’t remember her true past.

I love Gaby and Rafa so much, individually and together. Gaby is so feisty and brave, but she is also not afraid to cry and show her humaness. And who doesn’t love a girl who can wield a sword?

There are new characters introduced in this book, fiery, feisty characters that you will love to hate that Paula is so good at writing. And like Shadows, there is plenty of heart-pumping, sword swinging action. And I know what you’re all wondering – what about the sexy Rafa and Gaby moments? All I’m gonna say is that you won’t be disappointed.
You get to see more sides to Rafa in Haze, and it made me love him even more, he is one of the top book bad boys that you will read.

There are lots of questions answered, but since there are more books to come their are still lots of questions to be answered. I am dying to know Gaby’s secret past, especially the part that involved Rafa.

If you like feisty characters, heart-pumping action and sexy romance then this book is for you. Haze was a compulsive read – once I started I didn’t want to put it down and finished it in two sittings. I didn’t want it to end and then it did. And oh my gosh – THAT ENDING! Argh! What a cliff hanger! It had me gasping and crying and screaming because I NEED BOOK 3 NOW.
Haze is a must read, on par with Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instrument series. I highly recommend it.

*Like Shadows, this is for the mature teen and up, it contains profanity, sexual references, and violence.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

One thought on “Spotlight Sunday: Review ‘Haze’ by Paula Weston. AWW2013.

Leave a Reply

