A Writerly Update 3.

Hi everyone, how are you all?

My writing has kept me busy over the past fortnight, and for anyone interested, here’s what I’ve been up to:

I am almost half way through the final draft of the first book in my YA epic fantasy trilogy. I thought I had already done the final draft and entered it in the Ampersand project, but after getting rejected and reading over it again, I realised I could make it even better, so I’m doing another draft.
I was really happy with my manuscript and the changes I was making, even though the pages I worked on so far had a crazy amount of red,(I edit my hard copies using red pen) until I hit chapter 10, and then I felt really deflated and that maybe this manuscript was just crap. Chapter 10 seemed really bad and I had no way of making it better, so I did something really tough – I deleted it. A WHOLE CHAPTER! It was tough but it made my manuscript better, and it wasn’t a significant chapter, a chapter an editor would probably ask me to delete anyway. There was only one significant part in it – my main character is a prophetess and she has a prophetic dream that I needed to keep so I worked it into the previous chapter. And then I went on and kept editing and have felt good about the rest of the manuscript so far, so in the end I feel really glad that I deleted a whole chapter, even though it was scary at first. That’s what editing is all about really, tightening your manuscript to make it the best it can be, which means sometimes you just got to scrap stuff, be it a single line, a whole paragraph or a whole chapter.

Also this fortnight I did a rough draft for a query letter, which I will focus more on once this draft of my manuscript is complete.

Last writerly update I informed you all that I was doing a final draft for a vampire story to send to the ‘Dying to Live’ anthology. Well I completed that and sent it away.

Speaking of short stories, I have written a 1,500 word short story about a faery winter king and am up to editing the third draft. The idea hit me at 1.30 am last Saturday just as I was about to go to bed. I ended up staying up until 3 am writing it. I was so tired the next day. Inspiration has a funny sense of humour, always striking at inconvenient times.
I also came up with ideas for another two short stories that I haven’t gotten around to writing yet.

Another thing I am working on in my spare time, usually only about half an hour in the morning, is my YA urban fantasy. I had finished it maybe 18 months ago and then decided it needed a major rewrite because of the huge gaping plot holes that I ignored at first. I have finally worked out a new plot that am happy with and have gotten excited about it again, but my other manuscript is monopolizing my time at the moment so I don’t get to work on it as much as I like.

That’s about all from me. How is your writing going? I’d love to hear from you. Be sure to check in next Wednesday for some writing tips, and I’ll be back in a fortnight with another writerly update.

Happy writing 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 3.

  1. You HAVE been busy, Ms. Rochelle!

    Congrats on your productive revisioning! You have my full sympathy when it comes to striking significant portions– in an early draft of Shifters (this was before I had done a solid outline…my fault!) I ended up cutting the first three chapters and starting over. And I have heard from people that wrote over 50,000 words and scraped everything! Can you believe that?

    Would you have any interest in exchanging query-length synopses (not the full 1 page, but the synopsis as it would appear in the query itself)? I’d really value the feedback of someone who is in the process of refining one herself!

Leave a Reply

