A Writerly Update 4.

Hi everyone, how are you all?

Lots of things have been happening in the past fortnight writing wise that I would love to share with you.

The lovely Julie Israel and I swapped query letter synopsis’. She did a wonderful critique which really helped me a lot. She has a great blog and if you don’t follow her you should go do so now here

The final draft of my YA epic fantasy is coming along much slower than I would like. I’ve only gotten through a few chapters this fortnight, which means I’m only just over half way through. I was hoping I’d be closer to finishing by now.

I have made good progress on the YA urban fantasy that I have decided to rewrite, getting through a good 100 pages. At the moment I am reading through it to see what I am going to keep and what I am going to slash.

I have had some good bad news on the short story front. I sent a story to a magazine that had a call for fae stories. I got a reply the next day which is one of the fastest replies I have ever gotten. From my experience, a fast reply usually means rejection, and my story got rejected, BUT for the first time I got a PERSONALIZED rejection!!!
The editor said they ENJOYED my writing voice, and that they would look forward to seeing future submissions from me. *happy dancing*
I have never felt so good about a rejection in all my life.

I have set myself a new goal to send one short story away per fortnight, at least until the stories I have already written are sent away (and accepted). The past two writerly updates I have been able to report that I sent a short story away so I thought I’d best keep going while I’m on a roll. My short stories will never get sold just sitting on my computer.

Hopefully next fortnight I’ll be able to report that I am least almost finished with this final draft. Because I am editing this draft hard copy I will have to type up the corrections when I’m finished, which will take a fair bit of time, and then I’ll have to read through once more to make sure I have put in the corrections correctly. I am hoping to start query agents by the end of July.

That’s about all from me. How is your writing going? I’d love to hear from you guys.

Happy Writing 🙂

7 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 4.

  1. Sounds like good progress. The last month hasn’t gone well for my writing but I’ve honed my query and synopsis based on feedback from Julie too 🙂

  2. I’m slaving away on ms # 2, going through and adjusting things. Then I’ll go through again and put more stuff in. Then I’ll go through again and take stuff out. Then I’ll give it to a reader. So no new writing at the mo, editing and more editing, and some re-writing. Thanks for asking!

  3. I am taking part in a writing challenge which I found when it had already been running for 6 months so I have a lot of catching up to do there, I am also determind to keep blogging and edit some of the book I have on my computer which I wrote at age 12…that means a LOT of editing becase I like the storyline I have yet my writing skills back then were a little weak. It is now the summer holidays, though, so I hope to get this all done. I wish you the very best with all your editing and I hope someone accepts a story of yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

