Fiction Friday: Review ‘Soulbound’ by Heather Brewer.

Welcome to this week’s Fiction Friday, today I am reviewing the YA fantasy ‘Soulbound’ by Heather Brewer, book one in the Legacy of Tril series.

soulbound

Synopsis from goodreads:

Tril is a world where Barrons and Healers are Bound to each other: Barrons fight and Healers cure their Barrons’ wounds in the ongoing war with the evil Graplar King. Seventeen-year-old Kaya was born a Healer, but she wants to fight. In Tril, and at Shadow Academy, where she is sent to learn to heal, it is against Protocol for Healers to fight. So Kaya must learn in secret. Enter two young men: One charming, rule-following Barron who becomes Bound to Kaya and whose life she must protect at all costs. And one with a mysterious past who seems bent on making Kaya’s life as difficult as possible. Kaya asks both to train her, but only one will, and the consequences will change their lives forever.

My thoughts:
3.5 out of 5 stars.

When I saw this book I had to have it. What an amazing cover! I love when the girl in the story fights with a sword – swords are so cool.

This was the first Heather Brewer book I have read, and I enjoyed it. The story revolves around Kaya, a girl who is forced to leave her parents to go to the shadow academy to train to be a healer. Barrons also attended the academy, but they are trained to fight. Kaya wants to fight, and she’ll do whatever it takes to, even if it means breaking all the rules.
I liked Kaya, liked her determination and spark. Barrons whose soulbound healers die go on a list to be bound to another healer. And Kaya becomes bound to the very attractive Trayton. I liked Trayton, he was sweet. He was the good guy, the rule follower. Then there is the instructor Darius, who hasn’t like Kaya from the start. He is gruff and reserved. I liked him, and I loved the fact he had silver hair. My only problem with him was that he seemed so much older than 17. Until I found out his age I was sure he was in his twenties.

It starts a little slow, but gets more interesting in the second half of the book when Kaya starts learning to fight in secret. Overall, I really liked this book, but it had a major flaw. The world building was weak; I could not grasp the time period at all. Most fantasies like this one are set in a medieval type time period, and I think this was meant to be too, there were flaming torches and lack of technology, but it felt so modern, and Kaya puts on a sweater and talks about a girls manicured hands? If you can’t get over a flaw that big you won’t like this book.

Despite this flaw, I thought the book was good and was glad I read it. I really did like the characters, the monsters, the sword fighting, the training sessions, and the overall premise of the book. The book ended on a cliff hanger, a very intriguing one that raises a lot of questions I want answers too. I will definitely be reading book 2.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

Leave a Reply

