A Writerly Update 5.

Hi everyone, how are you all?

I haven’t gotten as much writing done as I would have liked this fortnight. My kids are out of preschool/school on holidays for two weeks so I haven’t had as much time to write as I like. What I find amazing is that if I am doing housework the kids won’t come near me, but if I sit down at the computer to write they bug me incessantly.

Despite this, I did reach one of my goals: I finished this draft of my YA epic fantasy – Yay! I edited this draft on hardcopy so now I have to go through and make the corrections on my computer. After I have done that I am going to send it off to a beta reader. I have had it partially read in the past but I think it’s time to get the whole thing read. I have always been shy about sharing my writing, but everyone strongly suggests getting your work beta read so it’s time I got over my shyness and take the plunge.

Before the school holidays started I manage to complete the read though of the YA urban fantasy that I want to rewrite. I cut a fair bit, but I’m sure I will cut a lot more as I start rewriting. I know where I want to go with it and I want to write an extensive plot before I start the rewrites. I am usually a panster (write as I go) but I need the structure with this one because I’ll need to incorporate the new plot lines with the old ones that work from the manuscript.
My story involves parallel universes and a whole lot of YA books are popping up at the moment, or are planning to be released this year, involving parallel universes, so my book fits the market ATM and I might have a good chance at selling it if I write it in a timely manner. (Though I am under no illusion that I am going to sell the book just because it is trending. I do realise it has to actually be good too)

I had one of my short stories rejected this fortnight. Man, rejection stings. It was a story for an anthology. Ever since my first rejection for an anthology I have been determined to be in one, and will not stop submitting to them until I am in one. I have made it one of my goals.
I am happy to report that I sent a sci-fi short story away today to the Australian sci-fi/fantasy magazine Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine. The only reason I got around to sending it was because last writerly update I declared to you all that I would send away a short story a fortnight, so you’ve kept me accountable. I hate not having things out on submission so having to report to you guys gives me that extra push I need.

That’s all from me. Check in next Wednesday for some writing tips, and I’ll be back with another writerly update in a fortnight.

How is your writing going? I’d love to hear from you.

Happy Writing 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 5.

  1. My kids are drawn like magnets to the computer as well, so I don’t even bother trying to write at home until they are asleep. That’s the golden hour. I’m just finishing up one antho submission myself and starting on another. Good luck with your sub!

  2. I hear you re: school holidays!!!!! It’s not easy juggling work, kids and holidays I tell you 🙂

    Well done on the completion of your draft – that’s fantastic! But sorry to hear of your rejection. You’re right, rejections are awful 😦 Hang in there!!!!!!

    My update – I’ve finished my mss and doing the final polish before I send it to the publisher.

    1. Thanks 🙂 Good luck with the final polish. Hopefully I get positive feedback from the beta reader and I’ll be able to start sending my manuscript off.

Leave a Reply

