Reviews TO Come.

Hi everyone, so sorry there was no Fiction Friday this week, and I’m sorry to say there is not going to be a Spotlight Sunday either. I have had a busy week and have hardly any time to read. I am currently reading The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima. I am only on page 129 of 506 so there was no was no way I was going to finish it on time. I am enjoying it though and am a bit frustrated that I haven’t had a lot of time to spend on it so far, but I will have a review of it on Friday.

Although I don’t have a review for you, I have gotten a few goodies recently that I’ll be reviewing in the next few weeks so I thought I shared those with you.

I am so excited to say that I won Dare you to from Book Nerd Reviews They have some great giveaways each month if you want to check them out.

I absolutely loved Pushing the Limits, so I just know I am going to love this one.

I got a gift voucher to spend at Dymocks so I bought two books this week. Both I’ll be reading and reviewing soon, so be sure to check back in.
The first is unravelling

and the second is Raven Flight Book 2 in Juliet Marillier’s Shadowfell series.

I really enjoyed Shadowfell, I gave it 4 stars, and recommended it to those who love YA epic fantasy. I’ve decided to include my review for it below since I didn’t give you guys any reviews this week.

shadowfell

4 out of 5 stars.

I love reading fantasy and I really enjoyed this book.
This is the first Juliet Marillier book I have read and if this book is any indication I would really enjoy her other books.

The blurb reads: The people of Alban are afraid. The tyrannical king and his masked Enforcers are scouring the land, burning villages and enslaving the Canny. (People with special abilities.)

15 year old Neryn has fled her home in the wake of its destruction, and is alone and penniless, hiding her extraordinary magical power. She can rely on no-one – not even the elusive Goodfolk who challenge and bewilder her with their words.

When an enigmatic stranger saves her life, Neryn and the young man called Flint begin an uneasy journey together. She wants to trust Flint but how can she tell who is true in this land of evil?For Neryn has heard a whisper of a mysterious place far away: a place where rebels are amassing to free the land and end the King’s reign.

A placed called Shadowfell.

I loved the drama of how Neryn ends up travelling with Flint, even though it was appalling what her father did. But then she goes off on her own and to be honest I found it a little bit boring – she spends her time being cold and hungry and miserable.
It got interesting for me when Flint came back into it and then I really enjoyed it. So keep pressing on because it is worth it.

I loved Flint. He is quiet and conflicted with a huge burden of his own to bare. He wasn’t this gorgeous man that Neryn fell in love with at first sight. He was plain looking but had a huge heart that made him deeply attractive in the end. I love how their relationship unfolded: slowly, cautiously, realistically. This book was not overly romantic but had just enough to keep the romance lover inside of me satisfied.

I loved the gift that Neryn had. It’s powerful and carries a large burden with it. She grew in character and became stonger, more sure of herself. I like that she was taught to be selfless and kind. Life has taught her not to trust and that is something she has to learn to do.

The good folk I found interesting; they weren’t just fairies but magical beings of different shape, size and abilities. They belong to Alban even more so than humans and have a lot to lose under the ruling of the tyrannical king.They are drawn to Neryn and help her along the way.

It was a bitter sweet ending left open because this is the first book in a trilogy.
It does have the young adult feel to it, and was much shorter than a typical fantasy.
I think teens, young-adults and adults alike will enjoy this if they like the fantasy genre.

That’s all from me, I hope you guys had more luck reading than I did this week. What books are you reading at the moment or are looking forward to reading? I loved to hear from you.

2 thoughts on “Reviews TO Come.

  1. I love Juliet! I read the first of the seven waters series last year and fell in love. There is typically a “dark time of the soul” section in the middle (at least I found that to be true of Daughter of the Forest) but it’s very in keeping with the fairy tale/mythological basis for her stories. I love retellings so I’m all in for her style and voice. That may be just me though 😉
    Love your reviews, Rochelle.

    1. Thanks, I’m glad you like my reviews, I put a lot of effort into them. I love what I’ve read of Juliet’s too and look forward to reading more of her work.

Leave a Reply

