Fiction Friday: Review ‘Unravelling’ by Elizabeth Norris.

Welcome to this week’s Fiction Friday. Today I am reviewing ‘Unravelling’, the first book in the unravelling duology by Elizabeth Norris.

unravelling

Synopsis from Goodreads:

24 meets the X Files in the biggest teen blockbuster of the summer…

STOP THE COUNTDOWN. SAVE THE WORLD…

Leaving the beach, seventeen-year-old Janelle Tenner is hit head on by a pickup truck.

And killed.

Then Ben Michaels, resident stoner, is leaning over her. And even though it isn’t possible, she knows Ben somehow brought her back to life…

Meanwhile, Janelle’s father, a special agent for the FBI, starts working on a case that seems strangely connected to Ben. Digging in his files, Janelle finds a mysterious device – one that seems to be counting down to something that will happen in 23 days and 10 hours time.

That something? It might just be the end of the world. And if Janelle wants to stop it, she’s going to need to uncover Ben’s secrets – and keep from falling in love with him in the process…

My Thoughts:

5 out of 5 stars.

I just finished reading this and I am feeling breathless. And wrung out. Tissues people, you will need them!

How do I even review such awesomeness?

SO.MANY.TWISTS.

Forget what you think you know. This book goes in such a brilliant, unexpected direction. It will keep you on the edge of your seat as Janelle tries to piece all the clues together and stop the countdown that could potentially destroy the world.

It is action packed, fast paced and has a perfectly swoon worthy romance. NO LOVE TRIANGLES IN SIGHT. I don’t mind a good love triangle, but when there are so many in YA novels it’s nice to read a book without one for a change.

I love books like this and I absolutely loved this book. Once I started reading it was so hard to put down. I can highly recommend it to those who love YA mystery, thrillers that have a sci-fi/fantasy twist. Boys shouldn’t be shy of this one either, I’ll think you’ll enjoy it.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

*Does contain what I would say is a fair amount of swearing, under age drinking and some disturbing images. Would recommend this one for the older teen upwards.

8 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Review ‘Unravelling’ by Elizabeth Norris.

  1. I’ve added this to my TBR shelf on Goodread’s, it sounds amazing and really original! I’m glad you added that there were no love triangles because, although I started out loving them, I’m not a big fan. Some triangles can be very effective and put me on an emotional rollercoaster but anything less than that just bores me which is a sad thing, I think it’s due to them being oversued, espically after the release of the Twilight movies which were a big hit with teens everyone including myself, great review!

    1. I hope you like it, it was much better than I thought it would be. I thought I would like it but I ended up loving it! Love triangles are tricky things, they have to be done well for me to like them too. I agree that they are very over used, and there are a fair few people who are over them as well.

      1. I hope so too, I’m always looking for new books to add to my TBR pile and blogging helps a lot with that 🙂 Yeah, everytime I pick up a book I have my fingers crossed that it doesn’t contain a love triangle 😦

Leave a Reply

