Spotlight Sunday: Review ‘How to Ditch Your Fairy.’

Welcome to this week’s Spotlight Sunday where I shine the light on a book by an Australian author I think should be read. Today I am reviewing the YA paranormal standalone ‘How To Ditch Your Fairy’ by Justine Larbalestier.

How to ditch your fairy

Synopsis from Goodreads:
Welcome to New Avalon, where everyone has a personal fairy. Though invisible to the naked eye, a personal fairy, like a specialized good luck charm, is vital to success. And in the case of the students at New Avalon Sports High, it might just determine whether you make the team, pass a class, or find that perfect outfit. But for 14-year-old Charlie, having a Parking Fairy is worse than having nothing at all—especially when the school bully carts her around like his own personal parking pass. Enter: The Plan. At first, teaming up with arch-enemy Fiorenza (who has an All-The-Boys-Like-You Fairy) seems like a great idea. But when Charlie unexpectedly gets her heart’s desire, it isn’t at all what she thought it would be like, and she’ll have resort to extraordinary measures to ditch her fairy. The question is: will Charlie herself survive the fairy ditching experiment? From the author of the acclaimed Magic or Madness trilogy, this is a delightful story of fairies, friendships, and figuring out how to make your own magic.

My Thoughts:
4 out of 5 stars.

OK what did I love so much about this book? Charlie’s best friend had my name: Rochelle!
Just kidding.
It was cool to see my name it print, it’s not that common of a name and it’s not a name I see in books so it was a novelty for me.

But seriously, why did I like this book?
Because it WASN’T serious, it was hilarious.

Fun with a capital F.

Charlie is 14 and has a parking fairy: A fairy that makes sure she always gets a good parking spot no matter what, no matter where she is trying to park. Which means all her relatives and neighbours want to borrow her when they go out. If she’s in the car, the driver is guaranteed the best parking spot. Charlie hates her parking fairy and will do whatever it takes to get rid of it.

She also has a crush on the new boy Stefan but she doesn’t have a chance with him when STUPID-NAME Fiorenze is around and she has a ‘All-the-boys-will-like-you’ fairy.

It was a fast paced, quick read that will have you laughing out loud. Light hearted and hilarious, it is an absolute must read, and great for teens (and adults) of all ages.

We need more funny books in the YA paranormal genre. I love a good serious, heart wrenching, soul crushing book as much as anyone, but I also like to laugh. This book was FUN, and fun is good and I would like to read some more fun books.

There are probably plenty out there, maybe, I just haven’t come across them. But if you like fairies and fun books, besides this one, I can also recommend fairy bad day by Amanda Ashby. (Another Aussie)

There was only one thing that brought it down for me, New Avalonian talk. There are a few new words in there that took me a while to get use to. The words weren’t hard to understand, I got the general gist of the meaning, I just fumbled over them. In my edition of the book there is a glossary at the back of the novel that would have been more helpful if it was at the front instead. (so if you are going to read this you might want to flip to this first!) Other than that it was an utterly delightful read.

If you like paranormal and you like to laugh than I highly recommend that you read this one. You can add How to ditch your fairy to your Goodreads here

Leave a Reply

