A Writerly Update 7.

Hi everyone, how are you all?
Welcome to this fortnight’s writerly update where I tell you what I’ve been up to writing wise in the past fortnight.

I have made a decision concerning my YA epic fantasy.Last time I told you that I was considering changing the point of view from third person omniscient to third person limited. Well I’ve decided to do that. I have change three chapters so far and have also added a new first chapter. I have been writing for a while now but I am still learning new things. I hadn’t opened up with my main character straight away and apparently that is something you are suppose to do. I have done it with every other novel I have written bar this one – I was planning on opening with a prologue of how the evil ‘witch’ becomes evil. It’s an interesting part of the novel so I have done a little shuffling so it is still included. I am actually really happy with what I came up with for the new first chapter, it took me a long time to come up with a good scenario concerning the main character that wouldn’t completely throw off how I opened the previous chapter one which I am keeping. Thank goodness I worked it out!

I only managed to do one chapter of the Girl In The Mirror this fortnight, mainly because I have been concentrating on the urban fantasy that I’m rewriting. I’m half way through chapter six with this one and am really getting into it. I am feeling really good about what I have done with it so far. It’s really hard to write anything else, it always seems to be sneaking into my thoughts. It’s like I’m reading someone else’s books and I’m excited to see what’s going to happen, even though I’m the one writing it! I haven’t had to do too much rewriting with the chapters so far, but from about chapter seven onwards the rewriting is going to get a lot heavier.

I had the flu really bad last week so I didn’t get as much writing done as I wanted. And I’v had a couple of days where I didn’t get to write at all because life got in the way. I hate days where I don’t get to write, it leaves me beyond frustrated. I need to write, if I don’t I go insane.

Unfortunately, I haven’t sent any short stories away this fortnight. I am close to sending away a sci-fi story that I want to submit to Daily Science Fiction
I should be able to send it in the next few days.

I have also discovered an anthology I want to submit to: The Gold Coast Anthology.
You have to submit a story based on one of the photos on the website. I have been inspired by 3 of the photo’s and am trying to figure out which one I am going to submit. It’s a tough choice and the story is due by the end of the month so I need to get a move on.
I haven’t heard back from Asimov’s yet concerning the story I sent last fortnight. I have a wait of up to three more weeks. Fingers crossed.

Well that’s about all from me. Hopefully I can get a bit more work done on my other manuscripts this fortnight, and no more sickness comes my way.

How is your writing going? I would love to hear from you.

Happy Writing 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 7.

  1. Rochelle, I’m closing in on the completion of this revision on my WIP (w00t!). One more quick tidy and she’ll be off to beta reader land while I work on my query/synopsis (my first, so this will be tough). I’ve let up on other writing this summer to focus on the spit and polish. Jan through June, I was submitting at least one short story, selection of poetry, or flash fiction piece per month. I needed a break though.
    And … this past weekend, I took a blogging/social media break. I went to a friend’s pre-wedding celebration. It was another kind of lovely break.
    Good luck with your continuing work and your outstanding submissions 🙂
    You’re a busy gal!

    1. Good luck with your WIP, hopefully you’ll get positive feedback from the beta reader. I find the query and synopsis one of the hardest things to write, good luck with yours. I don’t really have much advice for you concerning the query and synopsis, I have in no way mastered these two little devils. This is probably one of the best posts I have read on how to write a synopsis if you want to check it out: http://www.publishingcrawl.com/2012/04/17/how-to-write-a-1-page-synopsis/
      Thanks for the well wishes, I appreciate it. I am very busy, but I love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

