Fiction Friday: Review ‘AngelFall’ by Susan Ee

Welcome to this week’s Fiction Friday, today I am reviewing the YA paranormal dystopian ‘Angelfall’ by Susan Ee, book one in the Penryn and the End of Days trilogy.

Angelfall

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The official print edition of the internet phenomenon. Already over 8,000 five star reader reviews. (And counting.)

It’s been six weeks since the angels of the apocalypse destroyed the world as we know it. Only pockets of humanity remain.

Savage street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night.

When angels fly away with a helpless girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back…

My Thoughts:

5 out of 5 stars.

I would like to thank Shaheen for giving me a copy of this book. She is a fantastic book blogger with an awesome website. If you love sci-fi/fantasy you should definitely check her out.

Wow. This book! I can see why it has all those 5 star reviews.
It was amazing. Once you start reading Angelfall you won’t want to stop, and with the frustratingly good cliff-hanger ending you’ll be dying to get your hands on book 2.

If you think you don’t like Angel books because you have read books like Hush Hush or Fallen, you should give this a go because this book is nothing like those books.

In Angelfall, We are dropped right in the middle of the apocalypse. Angels have ascended on the earth, mercilessly killing human kind, sending the world into chaos.
Penryn is trying to survive in a world gone mad. It is her job to keep her disbabled sister and her paranoid-schizophrenic mother safe. But when her sister is taken by an angel, she will do whatever it takes to find her, including kidnapping an angel that she inadvertently helped save from being killed. Enter Raffe. Oh, oh, oh, I loved Raffe with a captal L. I fell for him from the first moment that I meet him.
Penryn doesn’t want help from Raffe, but he is the only hope she has of finding her sister. Raffe doesn’t want to help Penryn either, but she has something that he needs. Despite hating Angels, Penryn can’t help to start to warm to Raffe, and like all the people she loves, feel protective of him. Unlike a lot of YA dystopian’s, the romance aspect is almost non existent, but for those of you who love romance, it has it’s moments. As a romance lover myself, the story isn’t any less because of the lack of romance, in this case, I think it is more.

Angelfall was gripping, fast paced, and had many dark twists. This dystopian was one of the darkest I have read – some parts I found absolutely horrifying.

Warning: Do not read this book while eating!

There are some gory parts, it’s not filled with heaps of gore, but there is some. I don’t think I’d want to see this as a movie. If you thought Hunger Games was gory (I didn’t think it was too bad) than wait until you read this. There are some parts involving cannibalism with children victims that turned my stomach. (I think it effected me so much because I have young children.)

Despite those bits – and they aren’t overwhelming in number, promise – it really was a fantastic read, so well written with great characters that you will champion for and fall in love with.
Because of the gory bits though, I would recommend it for teens 16 plus.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

2 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Review ‘AngelFall’ by Susan Ee

  1. Yay, I am *so* glad you loved it 😀 I still haven’t read my copy *hides*

    I’m too lazy to check Goodreads right now, but have you read Marianne Curley’s HIDDEN? I loved that book, it’s also about Angels, but to my mind, a completely new spin on the concept. And of course, SHADOWS and HAZE by Paula Weston remain my all-time-favourite angel bookies.

    ❤ Shaheen @ Speculating on SpecFic.

    1. You should get around to it soon if you can because it was amazing.

      I have read Hidden. I liked it, gave it 4 stars, and I agree it did put a new spin on the concept. I think Australians do Angels a lot better than anyone else, with Ms Weston doing them the best!! Shadows and Haze are my favourite angel books too 🙂 I can’t wait for book 3 to come out.

Leave a Reply

