Spotlight Sunday: Review ‘Zac and Mia’ by A. J. Betts #AWW13

Welcome to this week’s Spotlight Sunday, where I shine the spotlight on an Australian book I think deserves to be read. Today I am shining the spotlight on the YA contemporary ‘Zac and Mia’ by A.J.Betts. ‘Zac and Mia’ was the winner of the 2012 Text Prize and I can see why.
It is the 15th book I have read for the Australian Women Writers Challenge, making my challenge complete.

Zac and Mia

The synopsis from Goodreads:

The last person Zac expects in the room next door is a girl like Mia, angry and feisty with questionable taste in music. In the real world, he wouldn’t—couldn’t—be friends with her. In hospital different rules apply, and what begins as a knock on the wall leads to a note—then a friendship neither of them sees coming.

You need courage to be in hospital; different courage to be back in the real world. In one of these worlds Zac needs Mia. And in the other Mia needs Zac. Or maybe they both need each other, always.

My Thoughts:

5 out of 5.

I won this in a giveaway and would like to thank Text Publishing and Bec Kavanagh over at first impressions. I was dying to read this book, and thanks to you I was able to.

I think this book is only available in Australia at the moment, but, international readers, when it becomes available overseas you should pick this one up because it was an amazing read! Zac and Mia is a stand out YA contemporary, a definite must read.

EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK.

This book is about two teens with cancer who meet in the oncology ward, but it’s not a book about dying. It’s a book about living. It’s a book about courage, and hope. It’s about family, friendship, loyalty.

I loved everything about this book! I loved Zac and his goodness, and his view of the world. I loved Mia with her pain and longing that she masks with anger. These two characters were so well written, so real, that while you are in their story you forget that they aren’t real and you have the impulse to go look them up on Facebook (which plays an important part in them getting to know each other.)
I fell in love with Zac and Mia from the very first moment of meeting them, and they have sunk deep into my heart. I know these two will stay with me for a long time.
It is told in first person with points of view alternated between Zac and Mia, which I loved. The first person made it immediate and more personal, while alternating POV’s made it a more well rounded story.

I suggest you don’t pick this one up until you have time to read it in one go because once you start you won’t be able to put it down. I read this in one sitting, which I am rarely able to do, even if I absolutely love a book, but I just could not put this down, I had to know how it was going to end.

Raw and honest, Zac and Mia is a must read for all lovers of YA contemporary, both teens and adults alike. I highly, highly recommend it. It was awesome and perfect. It was one of those books where 5 stars just doesn’t seem enough. It’s a 5 star plus!

You can add it to your Goodreads here

*Does contain a scattering of swearing.

4 thoughts on “Spotlight Sunday: Review ‘Zac and Mia’ by A. J. Betts #AWW13

Leave a Reply

