Writing Tip Wednesday: Resubmitting Your Stories. A Letter To Women Writers.

Dear Women Writers,

There are a lot of women out there who write short stories, I am one of them, and if you are reading this, you probably are too. I am writing especially to you today because I want to encourage you to not only submit to magazines, but to RESUBMIT to magazines. Whether it be a new story to the same magazine, or the same story to a different magazine, it doesn’t matter, as long as you keep submitting. And I especially urge you to resubmit to a magazine that has rejected you but said they would like to see something else from you.

Why?

Because apparently we don’t!

Why?

Good question? Maybe this is something you need to ask yourself.
Recently, for the first time, an editor rejected one of my stories, but told me they’d love to see something else from me, I was over the moon, and I have every intent on resubmitting a new piece to them. And if this happens to you, you should have every intent on resubmitting to them too.

I know there is a huge debate going on about gender imbalance in fiction, in fact, it’s that gender imbalance that has spurred me to write this letter, but I’m not here to get into that debate today. I am here to urge you to look the gender imbalance in the eye and proclaim that you will do everything in your power to beat the odds. Other women beat the statistics, so why can’t you?
I write mainly speculative fiction where the gender imbalance seems quiet significant, so I just have to fight harder. And so do you. If you have a dream, don’t let ANYBODY stop you from achieving it.

Rob Spillman from Tin house found that women contributors and women they rejected with solicitations to resubmit were five times less likely to submit than their male counterparts.

So this is my call to you, women writers, to KEEP RESUBMITTING, and not giving up. An editor is not asking to see something else of yours to make you feel better, it’s because they liked your writing style. Believe in yourself, be confident, and don’t let rejection stop you!

Go and submit, or resubmit a short story today.

2 thoughts on “Writing Tip Wednesday: Resubmitting Your Stories. A Letter To Women Writers.

  1. It’s good to hear your opinion about this, as there aren’t many blogs that seem to tackle the issues of re-submission and (from what I’ve read) women short story writers.

    1. Thanks for reading. I wanted to write this because I had read a few blog posts about gender imbalance and how women weren’t resubmitting to magazines but men were and it inspired me to encourage them to do so because I hadn’t seen anyone else encouraging them.

      Thanks for stopping by, have a great day:)

Leave a Reply

