Fiction Friday: My Favorite Authors.

This list has the potential to be Huge! As a total book addict, I read a titanic amount of books (and have a gigantic list of books to read) and most of those books I love. I have decided to try and narrow it down to TEN which is painfully difficult. You will see that my favorite authors are all YA authors, bar one, this is because I just absolutely love YA (even though I’m an adult) and rarely venture into the world of adult fiction, it has to be extremely good to get me to read it, which Tansy Rayner Roberts books are.

OK, so here’s the list: (Not only do I love the books written by the following, I absolutely love their writing style and am even a little envious of that style.)

1. Spot one has to go to Melina Marchetta, she is hands down my favourite author. She is absolutely amazing. I know that whatever she writes I will love. It all started with Looking for Alibrandi, which I had to read in high school, and although I really enjoyed it, my love affair with Marchetta’s books began with Finnikin of the Rock. It is a must read high fantasy.

Finnikin

Finnikin of the Rock and his guardian, Sir Topher, have not been home to their beloved Lumatere for ten years. Not since the dark days when the royal family was murdered and the kingdom put under a terrible curse. But then Finnikin is summoned to meet Evanjalin, a young woman with an incredible claim: the heir to the throne of Lumatere, Prince Balthazar, is alive.

Evanjalin is determined to return home and she is the only one who can lead them to the heir. As they journey together, Finnikin is affected by her arrogance . . . and her hope. He begins to believe he will see his childhood friend, Prince Balthazar, again. And that their cursed people will be able to enter Lumatere and be reunited with those trapped inside. He even believes he will find his imprisoned father.

But Evanjalin is not what she seems. And the truth will test not only Finnikin’s faith in her . . . but in himself.

2.I love Laini Taylor. I have only read Daughter of Smoke and Bone so far, but it was so breathtakingly awesome that she earned my envy straight away. If you have not read this than you seriously should.

Hodder and Stoughton, 2011
Hodder and Stoughton, 2011

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

3.One of my absolute favorite contemporary authors is Katie McGarry. I just loved Pushing the Limits and Dare You To, and I just know that I’m going to love everything she writes too.

pushingthelimits

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

4. The adult writer I was talking about is Australian fantasy author Tansy Rayner Roberts. She is another amazing writer. I fell in love with her books after reading her high fantasy creature court series. If you love fantasy she is one author not to miss.

PowerandMajesty

“She almost missed the sight of a naked youth falling out of the sky. He was long and lean and muscled … He was also completely off his face.”

A war is being fought in the skies over the city of Aufleur. No one sees the battles. No one knows how close they come to destruction every time the sun sets.

During daylight, all is well, but when nox falls and the sky turns bright, someone has to step up and lead the Creature Court into battle.

Twelve years ago, Garnet kissed Velody and stole her magic. Five years ago, he betrayed Ashiol, and took his powers by force. But now the Creature Court is at a crossroads … they need a Power and Majesty who won’t give up or lose themselves in madness …

5. Another YA author that I love is Maggie Stiefvater. I love werewolves so I knew I was on to a writer I would love once I read Shiver. She seems like a really great person too, and she offers some great writing advice.

shiver

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

6. I love my high/epic fantasies, so now that I’ve read Throne of Midnight, I just know that I am going to love everything else that Sarah J. Maas writes.

Throne of Glass

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

7. Another Australian writer I just adore is Jessica Shirvington. I love her Embrace series, and now there is Between the Lives, which was a five star read, I can’t wait for more from her.

Between the lives

Above all else, though I try not to think about it, I know which life I prefer. And every night when I Cinderella myself from one life to the next a very small, but definite, piece of me dies. The hardest part is that nothing about my situation has ever changed. There is no loophole.

Until now, that is…

For as long as she can remember, Sabine has lived two lives. Every 24 hours she Shifts to her ′other′ life – a life where she is exactly the same, but absolutely everything else is different: different family, different friends, different social expectations. In one life she has a sister, in the other she does not. In one life she′s a straight-A student with the perfect boyfriend, in the other she′s considered a reckless delinquent. Nothing about her situation has ever changed, until the day when she discovers a glitch: the arm she breaks in one life is perfectly fine in the other.

With this new knowledge, Sabine begins a series of increasingly risky experiments which bring her dangerously close to the life she′s always wanted… But just what – and who – is she really risking?

8. And another Aussie who I love to read is Paula Weston. If you are looking for an angel book that stands far above the rest, than her first book Shadows is for you. If you think you don’t like angel books, you might change your mind after reading this one. She has two books out so far, Shadows and it’s sequel Haze, both 5 stars. I don’t think Shadows is available in the US yet, but it will be very soon, so keep an eye out for it.

shadows

It’s almost a year since Gaby Winters watched her twin brother die. In the sunshine of a new town her body has healed, but her grief is raw and constant. It doesn’t help that every night in her dreams she fights and kills hell-beasts. And then Rafa comes to town. Not only does he look exactly like the guy who’s been appearing in Gaby’s dreams, he tells her things about her brother and her life that cannot be true, things that are dangerous. Who is Rafa? Who are the Rephaim? And who is Gaby? The truth lies in the shadows of her nightmares.

9. After reading the Iron Fey, how can I not love Julie Kagawa? Faeries are one of my favorite paranormal creatures, and this is my favorite fae series.

Iron King

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil, no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

10. I love dystopian novels, and there are soooo many great dystopian novels and dystopian authors out there, but one of my favorites is Veronica Roth. Divergent is one of my favorite dystopians, and I can’t wait for Allegiant to come out.

Divergent

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Argh, that was so hard, but I have to give a special mention to Beth Revis, Kristin Cashore, Cady Cross, Tahereh Mafi, Cassandra Clare and Suzanne Collins, who I also love dearly.
There’s more, so many more, but as I said, the list would be huge if I tried to name them all.

Here’s a little fact about me you wouldn’t know: I love YA now, but before Twilight, I only use to read adult books. (I mean, I read a few YA books in high school, but i never read anywhere near as much as I read now.) From 18 onward I only read Catherine Cookson books. I own all of her books, she has written over 100, and so far I have read around half of them. She is an absolutely brilliant writer of historical drama, and I can tell you, she is one writer that knows how to write characters that are true to life.
So, no matter what others may think of Twilight, I am glad it was written because it opened the world of YA books to me, and paved the way for some awesome books to be written. So thank you Stephenie Meyer.

Wow, this post is turning epic so I’ll end it now. I’d love to hear who some of your favorite authors are so don’t be shy.

Leave a Reply

