A Writerly Update 9.

It has been 3 weeks since I last posted a writerly update, and of those 3 weeks, the last 2 have been hectic. I have had both my kids birthdays – their birthdays are only 4 days apart, which included a celebration dinner on their birthdays and then a combined party for them the Saturday after, and it was Father’s Day here in Australia the Sunday after the party, and you squeeze in my hubbie’s tennis presentation night and it equaled one long week of celebrations and not much writing! Then for the past 5 days I’ve had a bad case of the flu that doesn’t seem to be going away; lots of sleeping, but not much writing. It’s so frustrating!

So I haven’t got much to report. I think I have worked on one chapter of the epic fantasy I am editing. I think I’m lucky to have done 1 and 1/2 chapters of The Girl in the Mirror. My main focus has still been on Rift, my YA urban sci-fi/fantasy that i’m re-writing. I’m happy with the progress I’m making. It is turning out so much better than the first time I wrote it.
I just managed to get my short story finished and sent away to the Gold Coast anthology, other than that I haven’t even looked at any of my short stories the past fortnight, let alone sent any away.

What has been a writing life saver in the past three weeks has been #writeclub. I talked about #writeclub in my last Writing Tip Wednesday, but in case you missed it, I’ll explain it again. Every friday night on Twitter (US and then UK time, so Saturday afternoon for me since I’m in Australia) writers can join in #writeclub. For thirty minutes you work on your WIP, when that thirty minutes is up, you tweet your word count using the hashtag #writeclub. After a ten minute break you go for another thirty minute sprint, and then report your word count, and so on until you’ve had enough or the host @FriNightWrites calls it a night. It is so much fun, you meet lots of other writers and get a lot of support and encouragement. If you are on Twitter I recommend it. Last Saturday I did four sprints, so two whole hours of writing, it was wonderful, and just what I need.

That’s about all from me, I wish I had more to report. Hopefully in the fortnight ahead I’ll be able to get back to my normal writing routine (And this stupid flu will go away!)
How has your writing been going lately? I loved to hear from you.

Happy writing 🙂

One thought on “A Writerly Update 9.

Leave a Reply

