Review:All Our Yesterdays by CristinTerrill

AllourYesterdays

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time – All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn’t happened yet.

Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture – being kept apart, overhearing each other’s anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There’s no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It’s from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that’s about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future.

My thoughts:

4 out of 5.

This was a very interesting and different book. It had plenty of action, was fast paced, had a nice amount of romance, and a little intrigue.

The book opens with Em and Finn being held in side-by-side cell’s by the doctor who has invented time travel. Em has hidden documents of his that he wants and will do whatever it takes to get them back.
It’s four years into the future and the world has turned bad; war’s have broken out and America has become a police state.
Em and Finn must travel back to four years ago to try and stop the future from happening.

I found All Our Yesterdays quiet an addictive read, very hard to put down once I started reading. It drew me in from the beginning and kept me hooked with it’s fast pace. There was lots of action and never a dull moment, so I wanted to keep reading to see what would happen next and how it would all end. It was a little bit predictable at times, and I was a little confused by the ending, which is why I couldn’t give it 5 stars, but it was still highly enjoyable

I just loved Em and Finn, loved seeing how they fell slowly in love – we see this through flash backs that help us understand what has happened in the four years. I loved their relationship and seeing the differences between them now and how they were four years ago. Though saying this, the romance wasn’t the main focus of this book, it’s just the part I like most about it.

A sequel is now in the works and I will definitely be reading it.
All Our Yesterdays was a thrilling YA sci-fi read that I highly recommend. It was the first book I have read for my 2013 YA + MG Time Travel reading challenge and I hope all the rest will be as good as this one.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s