Spotlight Sunday:Review ‘To Spin A Darker Stair’.

Welcome to this weeks Spotlight Sunday where I shine the spotlight on an Australian book I think deserves to be read. Today I am reviewing the mini anthology chapbook ‘To Spin A Darker Stair’ edited by Tehani Wessely.

ToSpinADarkerStair

The very short blurb on the back reads:
Forget everything you think you know about fairytales…

My thoughts:

Overall I would say this is a good 4/4.5 stars. I really, really enjoyed this little book. It contains two stories, comes in at 51 pages and is chapbook size. Both stories are fairytale retellings, and I love a good fairytale retelling.

The first story is ‘A Delicate Architecture’ by New York Times Bestselling author Catherynne M Valente (The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland In A Ship Of Her Own making.)I won’t tell you which fairytale it is based on because the beauty is all in the discovery. I absolutely loved this story. It was very clever and beautifully written, and held me intrigued the whole time as I didn’t figure out which story it was based on until the end. I would rate this five stars.

The second story, Oracle’s Tower, by Australian author Faith Mudge, was also a very entertaining read. It is a darker twist on a popular fairytale, one which you will guess fairly quickly. I loved how it ended and if Faith was ever inclined to expand this story into a novel than I would definitely read it. I would rate it four stars.

The anthology has nice little illustrations within by Kahthleen Jennings which gave it a nice touch.

These two stories were a delight to read. Both were well written and clever, with new spins on old tales. They will take you no time at all to read, but you will feel more enriched having read them.
So if you love a good fairytale retelling in short story form, this book is for you. I highly recommend it.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

Leave a Reply

