Review: Days of Blood and Starlight.

Days of Blood and Starlight is the sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone, one of my favourite books. I was fearful of reading this because of what happened at the end of Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I’ve had Days of Blood and Starlight since Christmas! But now cover reveals and things for book 3 are coming out and I couldn’t read the synopsis because I hadn’t read the second book and didn’t want to spoil myself, so I swallowed my reluctance and read it. And I had nothing at all to fear 🙂
The following review may contain SPOILERS for book 1, I advise you do not read the following review if you haven’t read Daughter of Smoke and Bone. If you want to read this review to figure out whether or not you should read this series: YES! Yes you should. Right now.

Days

The synopsis from Goodreads:

The thrilling sequel to the extraordinary DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE.

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a new way of living – one without massacres and torn throats and bonfires of the fallen, without revenants or bastard armies or children ripped from their mothers’ arms to take their turn in the killing and dying.

Once, the lovers lay entwined in the moon’s secret temple and dreamed of a world that was a like a jewel-box without a jewel – a paradise waiting for them to find it and fill it with their happiness.

This was not that world.

My thoughts:

5 stars.

I absolutely loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but what a devastating ending!!! I was so unsure how this was going to go but I shouldn’t have had such little faith in such an amazing author.
Days of blood and starlight was just as mesmerizing as the first book. It was just as intense and gripping. What I love so much about this original high fantasy is the blend of the other world and this one.

Days was much more violent then Daughter of Smoke and Bone. The angels think they have won the war, but now there is Karou – the chimaera’s secret weapon. She is building monsters and they are seeking revenge. The war has been reignited and as with any war, there is lots of blood and gore.

Told in third person limited view, we get to see into many characters heads. She has a way of getting you to like a minor character almost instantly. She gets to the heart of both sides and lines are blurred as characters on the bad side are good and those on the good are bad. And although these characters are both angels and monsters they are both very human.

We see the return of some old characters and meet some new ones. We get to understand Akiva more as we see him struggle to bring peace from his side. The return of Zuzana and Mik in this book provides a light release from the heavier side of things. Then there is Ziri, he is my favourite new character. Ziri is a Chimaera Karou knew back when she was one of them. He was just a boy then, and madly in love with Karou. Now everything has changed but his feelings for her still simmer under the surface. My heart started to really go out to him and I think he would be a good choice for Karou if she wants one of her own kind – but I still think, in the end, I would want Akiva and Karou back together.

Laini is one of the most talent writers I have ever read. She has made a world, terrifying and impossible, seem so real. The things that happen in this book will leave you breathless! Fantasy is my favourite genre, and I absolutely love these books. I highly, highly, recommended them. I can’t recommend them enough. I’m dying to get my hands on book 3 now.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

Leave a Reply

