A Writerly Update 10.

Hi everyone!

I am happy to report that I have done a fair amount of writing this fortnight ๐Ÿ™‚ I finally shook my terrible flu and was able to get back on track with all my WIPs.

I’ll start off by updating you on the YA epic fantasy I’m currently editing. This is the WIP getting the least attention so I’ve decided to pick up the pace on it and have gotten 3 chapters edited this week, bringing me to chapter 9. Hopefully I can keep up this pace and get this round of edits done. I’m in the middle of changing the perspective from third person omniscient to third person limited, and that’s helping with my hefty word count. It’s currently around 116,500 and I am aiming to get it down to 100,000 words, which I think I’ll be able to do easily. Coming up soon is a whole chapter I’m going to slash so that will help.

I am happy to announce that I just passed 10,000 words of the first draft of The Girl in the Mirror. I am loving writing this story so much and can’t wait for the first draft to be done.

‘Rift’, my urban sci-fi/fantasy keeps getting better and better. I am loving this new version of it. SO much more developed than the original. The original version has 50 chapters and so far I have rewritten 13, so we’ll see what I end up with. The original was around 90,000 words and I’m hoping this version will be no more than 80,000.

Even though I have my hands full with these 3 WIPs, crazily I have started 2 more! The first one is a YA fairytale retelling. I’m planning on it being novella length, or at the very most 50,000 words. It will be a stand alone. I will say that it is neither Beauty and the Beast or Snow White. I have written the first chapter and an outline.

The second is a picture book, which I already have written 3 drafts for. The idea came to me as a whole so the first draft came out easily. I’ve wanted to write a picture book for a long time and actually have quiet a few picture books ideas but just haven’t gotten around to writing any of them. Confession: I got a kick in the pants about this because one of the mum’s at my daughter’s preschool is releasing her first picture book, and I thought, ‘Wow, that could have been me if I had actually sat down and wrote and finished one’. So I’m giving it a shot.

I haven’t done much on the short story front. I have neither edited a story or sent one away. My goal of sending a short story out once a fortnight has fallen by the way side. It’s hard juggling everything; something’s gotta give, and at the moment that’s short stories.

Well, that’s it from me. How has your writing been going? I hope you’ve been as productive as I have, and if you haven’t, don’t beat yourself up about it, things inevitably get in the way of everybody’s writing time, hopefully you’ll be able to have lots of writing time over the days to come.

Happy writing ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 10.

  1. Glad you’re feeling better. Sounds like you’re busy – well done on making progress on your WIPs. I’m editing my final scene and then Thorns will be finished – perhaps even tonight if I can tap into my ‘determined editor’ mode!

      1. I actually typed the last words last night – felt incredible afterwards! I’m going to read the whole thing through once more, but I think I’m done. Thanks so much for your support ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. Yay! *claps excitedly* Congratulations. I just read your post about whether to self publish or not. It may seem easy, but if you go that way it is recommended that you get your MS professionally edited which could cost a fair bit of $$$, something to consider. I’d personally try the traditional route first. Good luck with your decision.

      3. Thank you. Yes, I’ve been considering getting it professionally edited if I do self-publish, but the cost at the moment dissuades me! I’m sending it out to beta readers first and hopefully their feedback will help me decide how to publish

  2. Wow, you sound very busy! I’m polishing really at this stage. Feel like it’s coming together nicely but time will tell ๐Ÿ™‚ Like you, I’m recovering from the flu, sounds like it’s gotten its little claws everywhere!

Leave a Reply

