Spotlight Sunday: Review ‘Banish’ by Nicola Marsh.

Welcome to this week’s Spotlight Sunday, where I shine the light on an Australian book I think deserves to be read. Today I am shining the spotlight on the YA paranormal thriller ‘Banish’ by Nicola Marsh.

banish

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Alyssa has one week to destroy her enemy, save her spirit… and save her soul.

After her ex-boyfriend commits suicide and her mum’s alcoholism sparks yet another psychotic episode, seventeen-year-old Alyssa Wood flees her small hometown of Broadwater and heads to New York City to stay with her bohemian aunt — a Wicca High Priestess.

Alyssa revels in the anonymity of a big city and her new life. Her grades climb, she has a new best friend, and a new guy: the sexy geek Ronan — a saxophone player who prefers jazz to pop.

But her newfound peace is soon shattered when she sees a dead body in one of Ronan’s music clips — and she’s the only one who can see it. Worse still, Alyssa recognises the body that has been murdered a week forward!

Alyssa doesn’t believe in the supernatural…despite her family’s Wicca background. So how will she overcome evil when it’s closer than she thinks?

My Thoughts.

3 out of 5 stars.

Alyssa is living in New York with her Wicca Aunt, trying to move on with her life and forget about the deep loss she suffered six months ago. She is starting to fall for the older, sax playing Ronan, and he likes her too. Just as their relationship begins, strange things start happening to Alyssa. Someone is targeting her and with all signs pointing to Ronan, she doesn’t know who to trust.

I liked Ronan and Alyssa’s relationship, their flirtations and their kisses, it was all very down to earth and realistic, and although the romance was there it didn’t overtake the story. The mystery and intrigue was the main focus of the book. Although Alyssa has been brought up in a wicca family she strongly believes that the supernatural doesn’t exist and believes that there has to be a rational explanation to what is happening to her, which she tries to figure out.

The creepiness rose for me toward the end as the action increased. I liked the part Noah had to play at the end. I guessed fairly quickly who the villian was but it was intriguing to find out how he did the things he did. I kinda wished the author didn’t go where she did with the villian’s past – I don’t like that kind of stuff sprung on me like that. But that’s just me.

Thrillers aren’t really my thing, and I was debating whether to read it because it didn’t sound like my kind of book, but with such a great cover and all the hype, I couldn’t resist, and thankfully I did end up enjoying it. It was well written and nicely paced and I think If you like paranormal thrillers then you will really enjoy this.

Nicola has another YA series coming out in November that I’m looking forward to that sounds more like my style.

You can add Banish to your Goodreads here

And while you are there why not check out her new YA series Scion of the Sun.

Leave a Reply

