A Writerly Update 11.

It’s been about three weeks since my last update and in that time I’ve been mainly working on two projects.

I’m still working on my rewrite of my urban sci-fi novel rift. I’m about half way through now which is really exciting. Because it’s a rewrite though, I have to cut heaps of sections that no longer fit in with the story which is a little heartbreaking, but it’s worth it to get a better novel. I’m hoping to have it completed by the end of the year because I think I will enter it into the 2014 Ampersand Project
I hoping to have this draft completed by the end of October which is why I’ve cut back on what I’ve been working on.

I’m absolutely loving working on The Girl In The Mirror. I’m now over 14,000 words into the first draft. I forgot how fun it is to write a first draft of a novel. I’d like to have the first draft finished by the end of the year. I’m writing most of this on Saturdays with #writeclub (a group of writers on twitter who have word sprints on a Friday night. It’s Saturday for me though because I’m in Australia.)

I stopped working on my fairytale retelling novella because I was stuck on a name for something. I’m the kind of person that likes to have my name’s figured out before I progress, but then I told myself to stop being ridiculous, it’s the first draft, so I put in a substitute word and started working on it again. Here’s a little tip – on the first draft you don’t need to get bogged down on little details, that’s what edititng is for.
On Monday my daughter had an appointment with her occupational therapist so while she was doing that I started chapter two, typing it on my phone – a great little tip I learnt from Lauren Oliver.
Then last night I wanted to write but felt too tired to turn on the computer and type (and I didn’t want to get distracted by the shiny internet) so I got out a notebook and pen and finished chapter two the old fashioned way. I forgot how nice it is writing by hand – the only downfall is that now I have to type it all up. At least I can edit as I type.

So that’s it from me. How has your writing been going? I’d love to hear about it so don’t hesitate to comment.

Happy Writing 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 11.

  1. Sounds great! Good luck with your writing 🙂

    BTW – I like the idea of writing on your phone 🙂

    I’m about to start a new mss and am currently doing all the fun stuff like writing their bios, finding pics and determining their names 🙂

    1. Thank you. I loved the idea of writing on the phone as soon as I heard it. It helps on days that are really busy. I wouldn’t get any writing done some days if I didn’t use my phone.
      Good luck with your new mss.

  2. Sounds like you’re making good progress with both WIPs. I’m giving a final edit to the second half of Thorns before I send it to my beta readers at the moment – mainly cutting out unnecessary words

Leave a Reply

