A Writerly Update 12.

Note: I’m not doing NaNoWriMo, and I feel like the only writer who isn’t. I’ve already got too many projects under my belt and a new 50,000 word one is not what I need right now.

This is going to be a short update because I’ve only been concentrating on one manuscript lately, and that’s my YA urban sci-fi Rift. I had set a personal goal to finish this draft by the end of October, but was unable to achieve this. I did reach 70,000 words today, so that was really good.
I have almost finished it. I think it’s going to be around 80,000 words, we’ll see, I’m just letting it progress naturally and am not really worried about the word count at this stage. (The first version, what i’m working on now is a rewrite, was 92,000 words long.)
My new goal is to have this draft finished by Nov 15th. Then I can rest it and get back to my other projects. I really miss writing The Girl In The Mirror
And I really need to get back to the YA epic fantasy I was editing, its been a while since I worked on it.

Strangely enough, I actually sent a short story away. I haven’t sent a short story away in a while, but I came across a call in a magazine that I had a suitable story for and sent it away. Fingers crossed.

Anyway, that’s all from me. How is your writing going? I love hearing from you guys so don’t hesitate to comment. Maybe you’re participating in NaNoWriMo? I’d love to hear how you’re going 🙂


6 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 12.

  1. I’ve committed to 1,000 words/day for NaNoWriMo, so only 30,000 words instead of the full 50k. I didn’t get a chance to write the first three days of November though, so I got off to a rough, rough start.

  2. I’m no longer doing NaNo. I tried to and started valiantly, but other pursuits in other books have made themselves more important. Having done it in the past, I know that I can write a first draft of a book in a month, so I’m satisfied with doing NaNo just about any time of year, should I feel compelled. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who isn’t participating!

    1. There are a handful of us not doing NaNo, but we are waaaaay out numbered. I’m the same – I can do NaNo anytime I feel compelled to as well. Good luck with your writing projects and thanks for sharing.

  3. Nope, not doing Nanowrimo this month either – I’m focusing my energies on rewriting my MS with my beta readers’ feedback, which is going well so far 🙂

Leave a comment