Review: Winter’s Light by M.J.Hearle

Today I am reviewing the YA paranormal (sci-fi?) romance ‘Winter’s Light’, Book 2 in the Winter Saga, by Australian author M.J.Hearle. As this is book 2 it naturally contains spoilers for book 1.
As far as I know, this book is only available in Australia, but I’m hoping it gets picked up overseas soon because it’s a really good book.

winters light

Synopsis from Goodreads:
Blake is gone.

He sacrificed himself to save Winter, leaving her alone, unprotected… hunted.

An ancient enemy is rising, but Winter is no longer the innocent girl who was fated to die at Pilgrim’s Lament. She will not wait to be saved. She will do what she must to survive, even accept an unsavoury alliance with those who destroyed her love.

In the gathering darkness, the enemy of an enemy is not always a friend, and Winter must find the strength to stand alone and fight for the one she loves. For she is the key to unlocking the secrets beyond the veil of shadows.

And she is Blake’s only hope.

My thoughts:

4 out of 5 stars.

I really enjoyed this book, I’d go as far to say I enjoyed it better than the first. It had been a while since I read Winter’s Shadow but M.J recaps it really well, slipping it seamlessly into the beginning of the book so I was back on track right away. I was sucked back into Winter’s world from the start and held there by the intrigue and continuing twists.

Winter is holding on to the hope that Blake is alive, and she will do anything she can to help him – even if that means helping the bane, who hate Blake and his kind. Winter held the book up on her own, and I found myself still invested in the story even though there was no love interest to keep it going. She becomes Allies with Sam, her enemy that had a hand in Blake’s death. Sam was really likable. I loved his honesty and loyalty and being brave enough to stand up for what is right.

One of my favorite things about this book was the second story that was weaved throughout it. We see the ancient story of Lamara, the first key, as she travels to the Dead Lands for the first time. I found myself reading faster just to get to her sections.
We see passages from Blake’s dairy that helps us understand his history better and the torment he has to live with. It definitely made me like him a whole lot more.

Overall, it was a well-written, exciting and captivating read. It ends on a cliff hanger that has me eagerly anticipating the third book.
If you love YA paranormal, especially if it doesn’t involve the usual paranormal creatures, then I can highly recommend this to you. If you like more of a sci-fi/fantasy edge to your YA books, then you’ll definitely love this one.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

Leave a Reply

