Spotlight Sunday: Review ‘Finding Home’ by Lauren K. McKellar

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Spotlight Sunday, where I shine the spotlight on an Australian book I think deserves to be read, and not because I haven’t been reading any Australian books, but mainly because I haven’t finished reading them in time to spotlight them on Sunday. But this week I have and I’m reviewing the YA contemporary ‘Finding Home,’ by debut author Lauren K. McKellar.

Escape Publishing 2013
Escape Publishing
2013

Synopsis from Goodreads:
Moody, atmospheric, and just a little bit punk, Finding Home takes contemporary YA to a new level of grit…

When Amy’s mum dies, the last thing she expects is to be kicked off her dad’s music tour all the way to her Aunt Lou in a depressing hole of a seaside town. But it’s okay — Amy learned how to cope with the best, and soon finds a hard-drinking, party-loving crowd to help ease the pain.

The only solace is her music class, but even there she can’t seem to keep it together, sabotaging her grade and her one chance at a meaningful relationship. It takes a hard truth from her only friend before Amy realises that she has to come to terms with her past, before she destroys her future.

My Thoughts:

4 out of 5 stars.

Well, what a ride that was! It definitely had a gritty, darker side and was unafraid to highlight the realities of life. It dealt with a lot of issues including pain and death, alcoholism, teenage drinking and even had an unglorified first sexual experience, which was nice to see for a change even if it was a little uncomfortable to read. Music played a big role in this book, too, which I loved.

I really enjoyed this book and read most of it in one sitting, unable to put it down. Our main character, Amy, is dealing with a lot and some of the things she did made me want to shake her and scream at her, but she definitely grows in this book and she is a lot better person because of the mistakes she made.

This is a romance and a love triangle at that, but it was one I really enjoyed. Amy meets Luke first, but he has a girlfriend, then she meets sexy bad boy Nick, and although I liked Luke, as soon as Nick came on the scene I wanted him to get with Amy.

Overall it was a great read that I would highly recommended to lovers of YA contemporary. Because of the themes of the book I would recommended it to older teens and above though.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

Leave a Reply

