Spotlight Sunday: ‘Review’ Empower by Jessica Shirvington.

Welcome to this week’s Spotlight Sunday where I shine the spotlight on an Australian book I think deserves to be read. Today I am shining the spotlight on ‘Empower’ the fifth and final book in the YA paranormal series The Violet Eden Chapters. (A.K.A The Embrace series.)
Unfortunately this book won’t be available in the US until May next year, but I can tell you it is worth the wait.

Note: I will remain spoiler free for this book, but there may be spoilers for the previous books in the series.

Empower

Synopsis from Goodreads:
It has been two years since Violet Eden walked away from the city, her friends, her future and – most importantly – her soulmate, Lincoln. Part angel, part human, Violet is determined to stand by the promises she made to save the one she loves.

Living in the perpetual coldness of a broken soul she survives day to day as a Rogue Grigori in London.

But when an unexpected visitor shows up at her door, the news he bears about someone she swore to protect leaves Violet with no choice.

Even worse, she fears that this might all lead back to the night she tries hardest to forget. And what was taken without her permission.

Violet is going back to New York … and she knows exactly who is going to be there.

With Phoenix in her dreams and Lincoln in her heart she knows it is only a matter of time before the final choice must be made.

My Thoughts:

5 stars.

I am overwhelmed with emotion right now. This is one of my favourite series and it’s heartbreaking that it has come to an end. It’s hard to gather my thoughts. This book is going to grab you right from the start, it’s going to suck you in and then take you on one hell of an emotional roller coaster ride.

So much happens. So many twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. I’m breathless.
There are so many heart breaking moments, and at least twice I screamed and shook the book, and I was sobbing toward the end.

The book opens two years after Endless – two whole years! – violet ran away from Lincoln and everyone else after all that happened to her in endless, and has spent the past year working with some Rogue guys. And I have to tell you that they were so full of life. Although secondary characters, they leapt off the page and came to life, sinking straight into my heart. Especially Gray.

Someone shows up to tell Violet that someone she loves is missing so she has to go back to New York to find them and face everyone. There is a really bad bad guy that wants to end the world and Violet is the only one powerful enough to stop him.

The reunion between Lincoln and Violet is explosive indeed, and there are many interactions that follow that will leave Lincoln fans screaming and squealing and on the edge of their seats.

I am a Phoenix fan 100% and couldn’t wait for him to show up. I won’t say anything about what happens to him because I don’t want to spoil it for his fans.
Phoenix was my favourite character in this series and one of my all time favourite characters ever. I will miss him, and I’ll never hear or see the word lover again without thinking of him.

This book was amazing end to a wonderful series. It was romantic and action packed and had me on the edge of my seat for the entire thing. Once I started reading I found it hard to stop, I was sucked right back into this world from the very first page and know that it will linger in my mind for a long time to come.
It shredded my heart in all the right ways. You know a book is good when it makes you feel this much, and my emotions are all over the place.
I hate when a good series ends. It always makes me so sad and I need time to recover after I read the final page. Lovers of this series will not be disappointed.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

Leave a Reply

