Review: The Disappearance Of Ember Crow by Ambelin Kwaymullina.

Today I am reviewing The Disappearance Of Ember Crow, book two in The Tribe series by Ambelin Kwaymullina. I’m also happy to say I am part of the blog tour for this book so make sure you come back on December 14th and check out my interview with Ambelin. I am announcing some very exciting news for international readers πŸ™‚

#Note: As this is the second book in a series, it may contain spoilers for book one, though it will be spoiler free for this book.

Ember Crow

“However this ends, you’re probably going to find out some things about me, and they’re not nice things. But, Ash, even after you know, do you think you could remember the good? And whatever you end up discovering – try to think of me kindly. If you can.”
Ember Crow is missing. To find her friend, Ashala Wolf must control her increasingly erratic and dangerous Sleepwalking ability and leave the Firstwood. But Ashala doesn’t realise that Ember is harbouring terrible secrets and is trying to shield the Tribe and all Illegals from a devastating new threat – her own past.

My thoughts:

5 out of 5 stars!!!!!

I loved this book. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! It was brilliant. Brilliant. It was just as good as the first, maybe even a little better.

Ashala and the rest of The Tribe are back in this intensely gripping, well written, crazy imaginative dystopian. You think there are heaps of twist in The Interrogation Of Ashala Wolf, Ember Crow blows those twists out of the water.
I mean, the plot for this book! So intricate, so amazing, so mind blowing, so creative. I loved everything about it. Everything!

Old characters are back as well as some amazing new ones! Jules, oh yes, Jules, you managed to charm me. And Leo, oh Leo. And Ember. You thought you knew her. You don’t know her! Wow. I am wowed.
The new good characters are so good, and the new bad characters, how bad they are!
And the romance. Boy did it shift up a gear in this book, but at the same time it wasn’t the main aspect of the book. But I was swooning!

Love is still a huge theme in this book, love for family, friends and The Tribe, and humans in general, because as Georgie says, ‘love is the only thing more powerful than hate,’ and hate is the greatest enemy The Tribe, and all people with abilities, have to fight.

I cannot recommend this book enough. It is a dystopian unlike any other. It is powerful. It’s about overcoming hate and division, sadly something very relateable to us all, and the power we have in us to change it.
This is the kind of book that is so good you just want to scream at everyone to read it. It is a must read YA book. I am desperately awaiting the third book in the series, it cannot be released soon enough.

You can add Ember Crow to your Goodreads here.

7 thoughts on “Review: The Disappearance Of Ember Crow by Ambelin Kwaymullina.

    1. I was really excited too, definitely didn’t see them coming. I ‘m like you, I often can guess the twists too, but no, not for this one. Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

