A Writerly Update 14.

Hi everyone, how are you?

The past fortnight I have been resting my Urban Sci-fi Rift so I can go into draft 2 with fresh eyes. I won a critque of my first ten pages, which I didn’t think I would win, and was nervous about sharing them, especially chapter two, because I like my manuscripts at least a couple of drafts in before showing them to people. I knew chapter two wasn’t very good, and the person critiquing agreed. She also said I had a lot to work on which is true, it’s only the first draft after all. Chapter 3 is a lot stronger so maybe I will move it up, we’ll see.
On a positive note, she did like my writing voice and said I had a clear writing style 🙂

I started going over Rift again yesterday. I wanted to start fixing it up, unable to wait after that critique.

I did start writing more of The Girl In The Mirror again. I am now 16,500 words into the first draft 🙂 I am absolutely loving this story.

I also got back into the YA epic fantasy I was editing before I stopped to concentrate on Rift.

I’ll be concentrating mainly on Rift for the rest of December because I want to have the second draft done by the end of the year. I fell out of routine, writing less, when it was resting and really need to get back in rhythm.
I’ve been feeling really impatient lately, wishing I was already published. I feel like I’ve been walking this road forever, and that it will never happen. My young son asked me tonight what I wanted to be when I grew up. I told him I was a grown up and he said he meant when I was a grandma. I told him a writer (he wouldn’t understand author) and I realised it’s true, I want to write until the day I die and I won’t give up trying to get published ever. I can’t. I need to write. I am a writer, it’s all I can do, it’s all I want to do. I believe it will happen one day. It just would be nice if one day happened to be next year. Who knows what the future holds?

Sorry, didn’t mean to rant there at the end.
That’s about all from me. How’s your writing going? I’d love to hear from you.

Happy writing 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 14.

  1. Well done on winning a crit – I hope it was useful and the writer worked with you on improving your chapter.

    All the best with your writing. It’s hard work and I feel like you – when will I ever get my break? In saying that, all we can do is write and hope a publisher likes it 🙂

    Wishing you a very happy new year and all the best for 2014 🙂

    1. Thank you. The writer who did the critique did offer to go over revisions.

      All the best with your writing too. Yes, all we can do is write and keep writing.

      A very happy new year and all the best for 2014, too (it feels weird writing 2014) 🙂

      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

