Blog Tour: The Disappearance of Ember Crow by Ambelin Kwaymullina.

tribe

Welcome to my stop on The Disappearance of Ember Crow blog tour. I had the privilege to ask Ambelin some questions for the tour. International readers be sure to read on as there is some exciting news for you regarding The Tribe series!

1. The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf was very gripping with lots of surprises and twists, what can we expect in The Disappearance of Ember Crow?

More twists! More surprises! And lots of them….unfortunately I can’t really say anything without giving something away, but there’s some huge secrets that get revealed in this book. I have some of my friends reading it at the moment and I keep getting text messages along the lines of ‘Page 162?! NO WAY!’

2. You have some interesting names for your characters, I especially love the names Ashala and Ember, how do you decide on what name a character will have?

The thing is, I don’t really feel like I name my characters at all. I feel like their names, like the characters themselves, exist already, waiting for me to discover them. Sometimes it takes me a while to find their name – but they are very patient with me, and I get there in the end.

3. Do you have a favourite character in the series? One you really enjoyed writing?

Jaz, in The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf, because he was so easy to write – I always knew exactly what he was going to say in any given situation. And Jules, in The Disappearance of Ember Crow, for the same reason. Problem is, Jules is something of a habitual liar, so knowing what he was going to say wasn’t necessarily very helpful, given that it often wasn’t true…

4. What are you working on now? And is there anything you can tell us about it?

I’m working on the third book in The Tribe series, The Foretelling of Georgie Spider. As to what I can say about it – well, things get pretty serious for The Tribe. Because, as Ash thinks in The Disappearance of Ember Crow: “Ember had warned me after Belle Willis won the Prime election not to get complacent simply because things had started improving for Illegals. She’d said that the most dangerous times to be a member of an oppressed group was when the oppression began and when it ended. Those were the moments when everyone who’d gained from the oppression had the most to lose. And, she’d said, her mismatched eyes brooding and sad, threatened people are dangerous people, Ash.’

In third book, you’ll see the lengths to which those threatened people are prepared to go.

5. I have a lot of International readers who I’d love to read your book, and I’m sure would love to read it too, is there any plans or news on whether The Tribe series will be available internationally in the future?

I’m very pleased to be able to report that The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf will be published in the UK on 2 January 2014, and in the US on 8 April 2014.

6. And lastly, what advice would you give to writers out there aspiring to have their first novel published?

•Don’t give up. If you want to be a writer you need to practice the fine art of obstinacy. If you like me and are already somewhat stubborn, you have a definite advantage.
•Be critical. Be more critical of your own work than anyone else will ever be. At the end of the day, it’s your name on the book and you have to be happy with the story.
•Pursue opportunity. It is out there, and the net is a great tool for discovering where – don’t wait for success to find you. Chase after it!

What great advice! Thank you Ambelin for taking the time to answer my questions.
I’m so excited that readers in the UK and US will be able to read these books!

Here’s some info on The Tribe series so far:

Ashala Wolf
Synopsis from Goodreads:
The Reckoning destroyed civilisation. Rising from the ashes, some people have developed unique abilities, and society is scared of them. Guided by the ancient spirits of the land, Ashala Wolf will do anything to keep them safe.

When Ashala is captured, she realises she has been betrayed by someone she trusted. When her interrogator starts digging in her memories for information, she doubts she can protect her people forever. Will the Tribe survive the interrogation of Ashala Wolf?

You can read my review of The Interrogation Of Ashala Wolf here.

Ember Crow

Synopsis from Goodreads:
“However this ends, you’re probably going to find out some things about me, and they’re not nice things. But, Ash, even after you know, do you think you could remember the good? And whatever you end up discovering – try to think of me kindly. If you can.”

Ember Crow is missing. To find her friend, Ashala Wolf must control her increasingly erratic and dangerous Sleepwalking ability and leave the Firstwood. But Ashala doesn’t realise that Ember is harbouring terrible secrets and is trying to shield the Tribe and all Illegals from a devastating new threat – her own past

You can read my review of The Disappearance of Ember Crow here.

Don’t forget to pop over to Alpha Reader for the next stop.

On a side note, I, as with all reviewers I’m sure, write reviews hoping they will have an impact, and it’s always nice to find out when they do. Ambelin left me a note before she answered my questions, and she gave me permission to share it with you, so I will, because it’s not everyday I hear something like this:

A long time ago now, you published a very early review of The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf. I’ve never forgotten it, because you said something that really stayed with me. You wrote that: “This book is about love, but romantic love isn’t the main focus. It is about love of the world and everything living in it; the love a leader has for her Tribe and the sacrifice a leader is willing to make to save her Tribe; and loving someone you shouldn’t.”

I thought it was such an apt way to describe the book, because it is about love in so many ways – they way that it connects us to each other and the earth, its power to heal and redeem, and how necessary it is in a world where hatred is allowed to flourish. I often quote your review when I’m talking at schools about the themes in the book.

Anyway I’d just thought I’d let you know that I really valued your thoughts on the book! Good luck with your own writing.

Ambelin

Thanks so much, Ambelin, it made me so happy to hear this 🙂

About the author:

Ambelin

Ambelin Kwaymullina loves reading sci-fi/fantasy books, and has wanted to write a novel since she was six years old. She comes from the Palyku people of the Pilbara region of Western Australia. When not writing or reading she works in cultural heritage, illustrates picture books, and hangs out with her dogs. She has written a number of children’s books, both alone and with other members of her family. The Disappearance of Ember Crow is her second novel.

Leave a Reply

