Review: ‘Waterfall’ by Lisa. T. Bergren.

Today I am reviewing ‘Waterfall’ book one in the River of Time Series.
It is the fifth book I have read for the YA + MG time travel reading challenge I am currently participating in.

Waterfall

Synopsis from Goodreads:
What do you do when your knight in shining armor lives, literally, in a different world?

Most American teenagers want a vacation in Italy, but the Betarrini sisters have spent every summer of their lives among the romantic hills with their archaelogist parents. Stuck among the rubble of the medieval castles in rural Tuscany, on yet another hot, dusty archaeological site, Gabi and Lia are bored out of their minds…until Gabi places her hand atop a handprint in an ancient tomb and finds herself in fourteenth-century Italy. And worse yet, in the middle of a fierce battle between knights of two opposing forces.

Suddenly Gabi’s summer in Italy is much, much more interesting.

My Thoughts:

3 out of 5 stars.

I don’t have a lot to say about this book so this review is going to be short. I really thought I would love this book, but I only liked it. I liked that it was set in medieval Italy, that was different, and I did like the characters, I just struggled to connect to the story. The story was really up and down; some parts I really enjoyed and some parts I could hardly keep reading through. There was a lot of things in this book that were hard to swallow – Gabi goes back in time to the 14th century and she just fits in seamlessly. She knows Italian, how to sword fight, how to ride a horse. It was all just a little too perfect for me. And they just believe she is a lady, no question, even though she comes crawling out of a tomb in strange clothes. Plus there is insta-love, and Gabi is allowed to get away with way too much considering the limitations put on women in that time. And everyone seems to fall in love with her.

Saying all that, I did still enjoy it enough to want to read the second book in the series. For those looking for a clean read there is no swearing or sex, but there is mild violence. It is rated fairly high on Goodreads, with almost half the ratings 5 stars, so a lot of people loved it, and if you like romantic, historical, time travel fiction, (which I do) you might just love it too.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

2 thoughts on “Review: ‘Waterfall’ by Lisa. T. Bergren.

  1. I am pretty sure I nabbed a copy of this when it was free on Amazon. I am really interested to read it, and see how I feel about it. The same things that annoyed you might annoy me, too. It does seem a little perfect for the MC to be able to do all these fancy things, and be accepted even though she’s clearly from another time. But I think the premise sounds pretty cool, and I am still willing to give it a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

