Review: ‘Remembrance’ by Michelle Madow.

Today I am reviewing Remembrance, book one in the Transcend Time Saga by Michelle Madow. It is the sixth book I have read for the YA + MG time travel reading challenge.

Rememberance

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Lizzie Davenport has been reincarnated from Regency Era, England … but she doesn’t know it yet.

Then Drew Carmichael transfers into Lizzie’s high school at the beginning of the year, and she feels a connection to him, almost like she knows him. She can’t stop thinking about him, but whenever she tries talking with him about the mysteries behind her feelings, he makes it clear that he wants nothing to do with her. Reaching him is even more difficult because she has a boyfriend, Jeremy, who has started to become full of himself after being elected co-captain of the varsity soccer team, and her flirtatious best friend Chelsea starts dating Drew soon after his arrival. So why can’t she get him out of her mind?

Even though Lizzie knows she should let go of her fascination with Drew, fighting fate isn’t going to be easy.

My Thoughts:

4 out of 5 stars.

This was a fun, quick read that I really enjoyed. It was well written and nicely paced, and once I started reading I was captivated and couldn’t put it down. I had to read it in two sittings but it could easily be read in one.

Drew, the new boy at school, captivates Elizabeth (Lizzie) the moment she sets eyes on him – she feels a connection, like she knows him. Not that it could go anywhere, Elizabeth has a boyfriend and her best friend wants Drew for herself. They keep being thrown together and I love the little moments they share.
I loved the chemistry between Drew and Elizabeth. I loved the love-hate between them. I always find it more interesting when the characters are trying to stay away from each other.

They have a very interesting past life with a twist I was expecting. Drew annoyed me at times with the choices he makes, but overall I really liked him. One of the biggest let downs for me was that there wasn’t enough flashbacks in it for me. I can remember there being two, with Drew explaining most of their past relationship to Elizabeth. I thought it would have been much better with multiple flashbacks sprinkled throughout the novel.

Other than that, it was really romantic and I look forward to reading more about Elizabeth and Drew and their time transcending love in the rest of the books.

If you love YA books that are all about the romance then I can highly recommend it to you.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

Leave a Reply

