My 2014 resolutions.

I’ve seen a few of these posts popping up so I thought I would do one of my own.

My 2014 resolutions reading wise are:

This year I want to read at least 60 books. (Last year it was 70 and I just managed to complete it, finishing the last book at 10.30 last night)
With the amount of writing I do, I just can’t read a lot of books.

I want to take a big chunk out of my to-read list, specifically books I’ve already bought and have been sitting on my shelf for a year or longer. (I buy so many books it’s crazy.)
This year I will make myself read 2 older books before I read 1 new one, which will be hard because I got so many good books for Christmas 😦

One of my resolutions is to join a writing organisation this year, which on my budget, is not cheap, so because I’ve been saving my money for that I’ll probably won’t be able to buy another book before March, which will help me get through some of those older books on my shelf.

I will be joining the Australian Women Writers Challenge again this year, and the good thing is you can read any book by any Australian woman writer published in any year, and I have a fair few on my shelf so that will help reduce my to-read list as well.

I would also like to join the 2014 Series Enders Reading Challenge over at Somewhere Only We Know. (I’ll be doing a sign up post soon.) A few of the books I own are the end of a series and this challenge will help me finally finish them!

So that’s basically all my reading resolutions.

Writing wise:

My biggest goal for 2014 is finding an agent and getting a publishing contract. One of my life goals is to be published by the time I’m thirty – which I will be in November. Gulp. So this year is my finally year to achieve that goal. Of course if it doesn’t happen I won’t give up, my goal will change to being published ASAP from then on.

About the middle of last year I was regularly sending away short stories and then I stopped so I could concentrate on the rewrite of my YA urban sci-fi. So this year I would like to try and get back into that and send a short story away once a month. I have a fair few that are close to completion so I really need to motivate myself to finish them and send them off. It really is thrilling having your work on submission, even though rejection is so gut-wrenching. While you have something on submission there is still hope, which I think is the part that is so thrilling.

I have a YA contemporary (a light-hearted romance) that I’ve completed and haven’t really talked about. I sent it away about six month ago and never heard anything, so I want to get it beta read because I haven’t yet, and then start submitting it to more places. In the next few days I’ll create a new page talking about the books I’ve written/working on so you guys know more about them.

I also have an epic fantasy that I’m editing that has gone on the back burner, so I want to get back to that and finish it. I did submit it in two competitions last year but realised it wasn’t ready. So I want to edit it and get it back out there.

The Ampersand Project opens in February so if I can finish my YA urban sci-fi in time I will be submitting it. I have submitted a manuscript every year since it started but this one is my best yet. I’ll see how I go.

Besides all the YA projects I’m working on, I have an idea for a picture book, middle grade novel, and an adult novel, so this year I want to write and finish manuscripts for those and start submitting them. I’m taking on a lot, I know, but the abundance of Ideas I have is crazy and I don’t mind juggling. Writers should always be writing and I wrote almost everyday in 2013 and expect to do the same in 2014. My youngest (of 2) starts kindergarten this year so I’ll have more time on my hands.

So basically all I’ll be doing is writing and submitting and praying hard.

What about you? What are your resolutions for 2014? I love hearing from you so don’t be shy.

6 thoughts on “My 2014 resolutions.

  1. Happy New Year!!!! These are fantastic resolutions 🙂

    I’m also looking at my reading and writing goals. My aim this year is to write 2 books, continue supporting my CPs, read and continue my work with Romance Writers of Australia.

  2. Hi Rochelle – I would strongly recommend you join RWA asap. This is a brilliant organisation and I know I wouldn’t be where I am without it. Join, join, join!!!!! It’s worth every cent 🙂

      1. Yeah!!!!! My buddy and I run the RWA crit partner scheme so feel free to email me if you have any q’s. When you join RWA they give you a buddy who can help you navigate through everything that RWA has to offer!!!

Leave a Reply

