A Writerly Update 15.

Welcome to my first writerly update of the year. I’ve been very busy writing wise this past fortnight, using everyday of the new year so far to it’s full potential. So, what have I been up to?

Well, it’s school holidays here in Australia, which usually means less writing time for me because my two little ones are at home to bug me, which they like to do if I spend any amount of time near the computer at all. Thankfully, this time, my wonderful husband has holidays too, well at least until the 13th, so he is here to help me with them. Yay! Which means I’ve been able to write ๐Ÿ™‚

One of my writing goals this year is to get back into writing and submitting short stories. I’m happy to report that I ended 2013 by writing and submitting a short story to an anthology, and in the past few days I’ve written a first draft for a short story that I also plan to submit to an anthology. I’m quiet happy with my progress toward that goal.

My YA urban sci-fi Rift has still been the main WIP that I’ve been working on. I have never had more trouble with a first chapter than with this novel. Ever. It’s extremely frustrating. I’ve changed it a few times now and am having it critiqued again.
I have duel POVs, one is first person, one in third, but after some feedback I think I’ll change both to first. A small part of me is wondering if I should change it all to third, in fact, I have been wondering that for awhile, long before the feedback.
I’m not making any big decisions though until I read through the whole thing again.

Other than that, I’ve worked a bit more on my surprise fairytale retelling that I’ve been writing. I hadn’t looked at it in awhile, and I wrote a whole chapter and a half and was really enjoying it.

Today I added a new page to this blog you might want to check out called ‘My Novels.’ I have posted some info of three of the novels I am currently working on.

Well that’s all from me. How is your writing going? Have you had a productive fortnight? Are your kids home interrupting your writing time? I’d love to hear from you.

Happy Writing ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 15.

Leave a Reply

