Review:Tiger Lily By Jodi Lynn Anderson.

Orchard Books, 2013. (First Published by Harper Teen 2012)
Orchard Books, 2013.
(First Published by Harper Teen 2012)

Synopsis from the back of the book:

This is a love story unlike any you’ve ever heard…

Tiger Lily doesn’t believe in love stories or happy endings…until she meets Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland. Immediately, she falls under his spell – holding him like a secret in her heart.

Peter is unlike anyone she’s ever known. Reckless and brave, he both scares and enthralls her. She will risk everything—her family, her future—to be with him.

But Tiger Lily soon discovers that the most dangerous enemies can live inside even the most loyal and loving heart.

My thoughts:

5 out of 5 stars.

I don’t think I can express enough how much I loved this book. Who doesn’t love the story of Peter Pan? I certainly do, so as soon as I heard about this book I was dying to read it. I mean, a book about Tiger Lily, what a wonderful idea. Thankfully this book did not disappoint, in fact it exceeded my expectations.

Anderson’s writing is absolutely stunning. She spins a flawless tale that is more mature than the Disney version, much more darker, and achingly romantic. If you know the tale of Peter Pan it is no secret how the book will end, but you hope against hope that it will turn out differently, even though you know it won’t. Prepare yourself because this book will break you in the most beautiful way.

Tiger Lily is told from the point of view of Tinkerbell, which surprised me when I started reading, and had me a little wary, but it turned out the best way, in my opinion, to tell the story. Being a fairy, Tinkerbell can read minds and hear heart beats, so she knows exactly what everyone is thinking and feeling. She becomes intrigued by Tiger Lily, the adventurous wild girl, and starts following her around. I became quickly captivated by the girl with the crow feather in her hair and the little tag along fairy.

Anderson has a vibrant, rich way of describing things, so much so that I felt like I was sitting right there in the village, part of the tribe, watching Tiger Lily cautiously, but with curiosity.
Once she met Peter and the lost boys I was just as charmed by them as Tiger Lily was. As well as the characters we know like Tiger Lily, Peter, Hook and Smee, we get to know Tiger Lily’s only two friends Pine Sap (male) and Moon eye (female). Both had their own sad tale, and weaved their way into my heart along with the others.

If you love the story of Peter Pan, the lost boys and Neverland, or even if you are looking for an exciting adventure romance, this book is for you. Tiger Lily and Tinkerbell will sink deep into your heart and their story will haunt you long after you turn the last page. I am sure this book will be loved by both older teens and adults. Tiger Lily is a must read; I highly, highly recommend it.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

4 thoughts on “Review:Tiger Lily By Jodi Lynn Anderson.

Leave a Reply

