Fiction Friday: Review ‘Almost Dead’ by Kaz Delaney #AWW2014

Welcome to this week’s Fiction Friday. I know I normally do a review of an international book on Fridays, but I’m having an all Australian week this week because there were two Australian books I really wanted to read.
Today I am reviewing ‘Almost Dead’ by Kaz Delaney. This is the first book I have read for the Australian Women Writers Challenge 2014.

I was lucky enough to go to the launch of Almost Dead – the first book launch I’ve ever been to. It was a great morning, and had a much bigger turn out than I was expecting, and best of all, Kaz signed my book!

Here are a few pictures of Kaz signing my book:
SAMSUNGSAMSUNG

And here is what she wrote:
SAMSUNG

Now, about the book:
(Synopsis from Goodreads.)
A glitzy whodunit set amongst the Gold Coast elite and a hilarious romance between Macey Pentecost, the privileged teenager with a social conscience who just happens to see ghosts, and the good-looking surf champion Finn.

Macey’s life has been turned upside down. Her mother has left, her father is absent and her two best friends (her brother Seth and his girlfriend Willow) are MIA. On top of that Macey is being visited by ghosts who need her help to ‘move on’. But as wild as all that sounds, it’s all under Macey’s control until a rakish, good-looking spirit called Nick turns up … in her bedroom!

Nick’s a spirit with spirit who insists he’s not dead, he’s astral travelling and has a message for Macey: someone is out to get her. Macey’s biting wit has got her in trouble before, so she’s not surprised but when the threatening notes start turning up, she’s seriously shaken. Does someone want her dead?

It’s all rather disturbing but she’s finding it hard to focus on who could mean her harm with the annoyingly handsome surf god Finn turning up at the most inopportune times and a father with a rather large surprise of his own.

Is it a case of bad timing? Or are these things somehow connected? And if they are, what on earth should she wear when she’s solving the mystery?

My thoughts:

5 out of 5.

I loved this book, absolutely adored it. It had just the right balance of fun, seriousness and snark.

Almost Dead is a companion novel to Dead, Actually, and stars Macey Pentecost, a secondary character from Dead, Actually, which I haven’t read but definitely will be now! But it did read perfectly fine all on it’s own.

Macey is cool, rich and stylish, but her life is far from perfect. She has major family dramas and she has started seeing ghost. Nick, one of the ghosts, shows up claiming he’s not dead – just in a coma, and he needs to warn Macey that someone is out to get her.
Macey is doubtful, until she starts getting creepy messages.
While Macey is trying to figure out just who might be stalking her, she meets the hot, but annoying, surfer, Finn. Finn has a close connection to Nick, and offers to help Macey.
Barely able to tolerate him at first, her resolve starts to melt once she gets to know him.

I just loved the characters in this book. Both Nick and Finn were fun and flirty. Finn was a real gentlemen as well, which I loved. Who needs a bad boy when there are guys as good as Finn?
I loved Macey. She was a little stubborn, but she was smart and witty and fun and tough. And she’s not afraid to embrace her glamorous side. It was nice to see a strong heroine who loved fashion and embraced being a girl. Macey had real heart, and I think that’s what makes her lovable. She refuses to be the shallow rich girl, and was very relatable.

Cleverly written, Almost dead had me on the edge of my seat. Macey drew me right in from the start and held me captive for the rest of the book. I don’t read a lot of thrillers, it’s not usually my thing, but every now and then I’ll take a chance on one, and I’m so glad I took a chance on this one. It was a great thriller that had me guessing the whole time. I was flipping from person to person but not really sure, and I’ll admit I had no idea who it was until it was revealed.
And Almost Dead is not just a thriller, it’s a romance too, a really sweet one that I really enjoyed. Overall it was a fantastic YA novel that I highly recommend.
Kaz Delaney is a definite must read author, and I can’t wait to get my hands on more of her work.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

6 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Review ‘Almost Dead’ by Kaz Delaney #AWW2014

  1. What an amazing review, Rochelle. I thank you from the bottom of my heart. I admit I really do love this book and to have readers such as yourself enjoy it as well, is the most awesome feeling. Then to have them happily tell the world as you’re doing here? Priceless and so, so precious. Mega hugs. xxxxx I will always be in your debt.

    1. Thank you for writing such a great book ! I love telling the world about books I love, especially when they are written by Aussie authors. Thank you for your kind words 🙂

  2. Hi Rochelle, Thanks for the fab review. I’m Kaz’s agent and have to share how much fun Kaz and I had trawling through the photo library to find the “perfect” crush-worthy guys for Macey. Best day at work ever! jacintadimase.com.au @Jacinta_DiMase

Leave a Reply

