Review: How To Keep A Boy From Kissing You by Tara Eglington #AWW2014

Today I am very pleased to review the highly funny YA contemporary by Australian author Tara Eglington. It is the second book I have read for the Australian Women Writers Challenge 2014.

howtokeepaboyfromkissingyou

Synposis:

Sweet sixteen and never been kissed — and that’s the way Aurora Skye wants it to be. She’s too busy finding potential Princes for her two best friends, counselling her sensitive New Age Dad and dealing with the unexpected return of her long-absent mum.

But always in the backround there’s Hayden Paris, the boy next door and the bane of Aurora’s life. He’s always around to see her at her worst and that’s what makes him so infuriating…even if he is smart, funny and ‘gets’ her like no-one else.

Aurora’s on a mission to save her first kiss for the boy who’s truly worthy of it — and that means a prince not a toad.

My Thoughts:
5 out of 5 stars.

I love funny, romantic, YA contemporaries and this was a perfect example of a brilliant one. 50 pages in and I had already laughed out loud countless times, and by the end I was filled up with all the happy feels.

Aurora skye is smart, funny, popular, and on top of that, she’s nice – except to Hayden Paris, her annoying neighbor who is always there at the worst moments.She cares about her friends and will do whatever she can to help their love lives.
Aurora has a secret – she’s never been kissed, and she’ll go to great lengths to make sure she doesn’t get kissed, because she wants her first kiss to be with a prince. An admirable goal to have, I think.

After one of her friends finds herself newly single, Aurora tires to distract her by getting her group involved with this year’s school production of Much Ado About Nothing.
Which, unfortunately, Hayden is in too.
OMG. Boy did Hayden and Aurora have chemistry! I loved, loved, loved every interaction between these two, like loved it!
Hayden was witty and flirty and hot and infuriating, and it’s clear to everyone but Aurora why he chooses to antagonize her so much.

The whole cast of charters were full of personality, even the minor ones. They leapt right off the page and I felt like I was right back in high school.

This book was totally swoon worthy. It will make you laugh and feel all gooey on the inside. Hayden is now one of my favourite book boys. Once I started reading, I just couldn’t put it down. This is a must read book for lovers of YA contemporary romance. I highly, highly recommend it.

Go read this book!

It was pure awesomeness and I can’t wait to get my hands on the second book.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

3 thoughts on “Review: How To Keep A Boy From Kissing You by Tara Eglington #AWW2014

Leave a Reply

