Fiction Friday: Review ‘The Raven Boys’ by Maggie Stiefvater.

Welcome to this week’s Fiction Friday today I am reviewing The Raven Boys, book one in The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater.

raven boys

The synopsis from Goodreads:
“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

My thoughts:
4 out of 5 stars.

This book took a little bit longer to captivate me than the others, and I have to say that although I thought it was really good, I loved Maggie’s Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races better.

This was a strange and magical book with a dark undertone and a mystery at its heart. The story centers around Blue Sargent, daughter of a psychic, living in a house full of psychics, but is not one herself. She has a very dark prediction hanging over her head: If she kisses her true love, he will die. Not the kind of thing a girl likes to hear.
On St.Mark’s Eve, sitting in the ancient church yard with her aunt while she marks off spirit she sees, Blue sees a spirit for the first time, which means she’s his true love or his killer. Can’t this girl catch a break?
Gansey is his name and is part of group of Aglionby boys, A.K.A The Raven Boys. Boys Blue wants to stay far away from.
Gansey is the glue that holds his little group together – there is the brash, broken Ronan, the poor, scholarship student Adam, and the quiet, ever observing Noah.
Noah was a very intriguing character indeed. I really enjoyed his plot line.
Gansey is on a personal quest to find the magical ley line he believes runs through the area. He hopes to be the one to discover that the legend of an ancient king is true.
Blue is quickly drawn into their world, and soon she begins to develop feelings for one of the boys, but she has that horrible prediction hanging over her head.
It wasn’t as romantic as the other books by Stiefvater, but there were moments, sweet moments, and I loved them.
There were some fantastic twists that really throw you out in a good way. The build up to the ending was exciting and we are left with one part of the story wrapped up with a little tease of more to come that makes me eager for the next book.

I love Blue and the boys and the dynamics between them all. I loved how different all of them were. They were well rounded and realistic. Gansey didn’t capture me like I had hoped he would, I liked him, but I didn’t love him, and this disappointed me.
I will try to say this the least spoilery I can; there was a hint of a love triangle that I didn’t like. Stiefvater has set up a relationship that I liked and I want that relationship to stay the way it is.

Overall it was a really enjoyable book and I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series. I would recommend it for those who like their YA with paranormal elements and mystery, and fans of Stiefvater of course.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

8 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Review ‘The Raven Boys’ by Maggie Stiefvater.

  1. I loved this book! I think my favorite thing about it was the dynamics between the boys and how Gansey kept them all together. I’ve already downloaded the second book, but I think I want to re-read this before I dive into it. Great review 🙂

    1. Thanks. Yes, I loved the dynamics between the boys and Gansey, they were all so intriguing with their troubled lives. Adam was one of my favourites 😉 It was definitely a killer of a last line, well it was for me anyway, and I think I might even love book 2 more than this one once I read it.

Leave a Reply

